answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-12 21:14:13
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

With a runner on third stealing on a passed ball can the batter be called for interference?

yes i doesnt matten ur team or not


Does a batter get an RBI with a batter on third with a wild pitch or passed ball?

Only if the bases are loaded and the wild pitch or passed ball is ball four.


Does a batter get an RBI if a runner scores on a passed ball if the batter then singles?

No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.


Does the batter get credit for an RBI on a passed ball?

No ... no RBI is credited for either a passed ball or a wild pitch.


Has a major league batter ever scored a run after being walked without another batter contributing to his progression or stealing any bases?

Given the possiblities of stealing bases, advancing on a passed ball, wild pitch, or error on a pick off attempt, I am sure that it has happened, but I can't cite a specific incidence of it having happened. In fact I am sure there has been a case at least once of a runner stealing second advancing to third when the ball was thrown away of missed o the play at second and then scoring on a wild pitch, passed ball or maybe even a steal. There are so many combinations of things that could allow the scenario you mentioned that I am sure it has to have happened.


Is a batter awarded a base if the batter swings and hits catchers glove after ball has passed?

ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base


Does the batter get credited with an RBI when a runner on third scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

no


How does a Runner advances a base without the batter striking the ball walking or getting hit by the ball?

A runner, or runners, may advance in several ways; stealing, wild pitch, passed ball, wild throw in pick off attempt, catcher interference with batter, balk, fielder interference with base runner, error by fielder on attempted steal, error on catcher on throw on attempted steal.


Can a runner advance to second base if he was walked?

Yes. If the batter is walked and the 4th ball is a wild pitch or passed ball, the batter may attempt to take an extra base.There is no rule in baseball that requires a batter that is walked to stop at 1st base.


Does a dropped third strike scoring a runner from third give the batter an RBI?

The batter would not be given an RBI, it would be scored a run on a passed ball. If it was a passed ball it would be an unearned run, if it was a wild pitch then it would be an earned run. However, neither pitchers or catchers are given errors on wild pitches or passed balls


Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base). He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


Is it possible to steal home in baseball?

To steal home in baseball is 100% completely legal. More than likely, you wouldn't steal home unless it's on a squeeze or it's 2 outs, bases loaded, and there is a full count on the batter. One of the most common, and obvious, situations to steal home, is whenever there is a passed ball... make sure the backstop is large enough to ensure you being safe. Know your speed! -Cole.Grossi


Is an out recorded if there are less than two outs and the batter safely makes it to first base on a passed ball third strike with first base unoccupied?

No out is recorded. The batter is safe at first, error charged to catcher.


How can a batter reach first base without hitting the ball?

In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free). Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base. You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.


Is a passed ball in baseball counted as an at bat?

If the ball gets passed the catcher on a (passed) drooped 3rd strike it is scored as a strike out ... If the catcher throws the ball to 1st before the batter gets there it is scored as a strike out and or a 2 to 3 put out ...More then likely a passed ball will be scored an Error then another way ...


Bases loaded nobody out Batter hits a ball and the side is retired making three outs Nobody on the defensive team touches the ball How?

The lead runners could all have been passed by the batter before any of them touched the plate after the batter hit a home run. The three lead runners would all be called out.


Is a batter awarded an RBI if a runner on 3rd scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

No, a WP or PB is similar to a fielding error. No RBI is awarded (unless the WP was ball 4 with the bases loaded, in which case the batter gets one RBI).


How can a batter get to first without hitting the ball?

Hit by pitch, base on balls, catcher's interference, passed ball or wild pitch on the third strike


Is a passed ball from a catcher considered an error?

If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.


Does a batter get an RBI for an in the park home run if there is an error on the play?

If a batter gets a hit and circles the bases because of an error it is not considered an inside the park home run. He would not get a RBI but, he would get credit for a run scored. Depending on what base he just passed when the error occured would identify what type of hit it was. E.g. A batter hits a ball down the first base line. It goes all the way to the outfield corner. When the right fielder gets to the ball the batter is rounding second and heading to third. The right fielder throws the ball in wide to the third basemen(as the batter is sliding into third)it gets by him. The batter scores. The right fielder gets an one base error and the batter geta a triple with a run scored. I !


If a player reaches base on a passed ball and later scores is it an earned run or unearned?

The only way a runner can reach on a passed ball is if he strikes out, and the 3rd strike gets away from the catcher. Since the batter struck out, he should not have reached based, although no errors are charged the run if he later scores is an unearned run See MLB Rule 10.18 Earned Runs. No earned run if batter reaches on passed ball. A wild pitch is the pitcher's fault and contributes to the earned run.


Is it a earned run if a batter swings and misses a wild pitch on a third strike and he later scores?

If the batter reaches base as the result of a Wild Pitch, and he later scores, it would be an Earned Run. However, if he reaches base as the result of a Passed Ball, and he later scores, it would be an Unearned Run.


How did the history of the bahama's come about?

One of the Governers in 1718 found some pirates and got the information about what they did and so on and hung them for stealing etc and it has just been passed on over the years


Does the runner have to wait until the ball has been hit to advance to next base?

No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.