Best Answer

Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover.

The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a punt is partially blocked is it a live ball allowing the kicking team to recover it?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

During a punt if ball is partially blocked but ball advances past scrimmage line can the kicking team recover and advance the ball?

Yes. 1) The punting team can regain possession if the receiving team commits a penalty prior to the punt that gives the punting team enough yardage for a first down. The punting team can also regain possession if one of the players on the receiving team attempting to block the punt hits the punter immediately after the punt without having first touched the ball after it left the punter's foot. The resulting penalty can be 5 yards or 15 yards and is a judgment call by the referee. The five yard penalty is called 'running into the punter' and the 15 yard penalty is called 'roughing the punter'. Basically, the difference in the penalties is how hard the punter is hit or whether the punter has his punting leg high in the air when he is hit (almost always results in a 15 yard penalty). If the penalty is 15 yards, the punting team retains possession and is awarded a first down. If it is a 5 yard penalty, should the added five yards not result in giving the punting team a first down, they can decline the penalty and allow the receiving team to take possession where the play was blown dead or they can accept the penalty and decide whether they want to try for a first down or to punt the ball again. There are some times when a receiving team player may hit the punter without first touching the ball and no penalty is called. Should the punter drop the ball or the snap from center hits the ground before the punter gets possession or the punter takes a step or steps as if he is going to run the ball instead of punt, the punter then is considered a runner and not a punter. No running into/roughing the punter penalty can be called unless the contact is considered extreme and/or intentional and then the penalty is 15 yards for 'unnecessary roughness'. Punters and place kickers are given extra protection by the rules of the game because they are in a very vulnerable position when they make contact with the ball and during their follow through. As long as there is no trickery by the punter, the snap is good, and the punter does not drop the ball the receiving team may not make contact with him after a punt that they have not touched without a penalty being called. Again, there is one caveat to this. A running into/roughing penalty cannot be called if the member of the receiving team that hits the punter does so due to being blocked into the punter by a member of the punting team. If the impetus of the receiving team's player is due to a block from the punting team's player, no penalty is called. 2) The punting team can regain possession if the receiving team fumbles the ball while returning the punt and the punting team recovers or if the ball touches a member of the receiving team prior to being possessed by a member of the receiving team and the punting team recovers (this is called a 'muff'). The rules are different pertaining to fumbling a punt return and muffing a punt return. If the ball is fumbled, the punting team can gain possession and advance the ball as far as they can. If the ball is muffed, the punting team can gain possession but they cannot advance the ball. The play will be whistled dead at the time the punting team gains possession of a muffed punt and the ball will be spotted at the yard line where the punting team gained possession. That's my take and it kinda goes off on a couple of tangents. But there is some explanation that needs to be done in an attempt to cover the bases when answering this question. Any referees out there that can add on to this?

In the NFL can you score on a blocked field goal?

Both the offense and defense can score on a blocked field goal. The defense can recover a blocked field goal and advance it regardless of where they recover it. The offense can recover a blocked field goal and advance it as long as the ball has not passed the original line of scrimmage.

Can a team attempt a feelgo on 3rd down miss the kick then get the ball back on 4th down?

I assume you mean "field goal." Yes, this is possible, if the ball is blocked and never crosses the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers. The kicking team could also recover the ball past the line of scrimmage if the kicking team touched the ball first.

Am I blocked via iMessage?

If you are blocked you must have gone against the rules. Please contact customer service for help to recover your account.

What is a Forced Touch in college football?

You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'