When the batter hits the ball into foul territory, and an opposing player catches it in foul territory on the fly.
If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.
The ball is fair.If it bounces fair and the player catches it then steps in foul territory,it's fair because he touched the baseball before it went foul.
No, that is considered a homerun.
It depends on how he leaves the playing field. If the fielder catches the ball in flight, and falls out of the playing field between homeplate and the yellow line on the wall (foul territory), the batter-runner is out as long as the player maintains full, controlled posession of the baseball. However, if a player catches a ball and falls out of play over the yellow line signifying a homerun, the play should be ruled a homerun, but specific ground rules may be in effect to rule the batter out.
The most common way a home run is hit is when a batter hits a ball over the fence in fair territory. The other way a home run can be hit is called an inside-the-park home run, which is when a batter hits a fair ball that does not leave playable territory and the batter reaches home plate before the defensive team puts him out and there are no errors on the play.
When a defensive player catches a pass
The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.
Players may not use their hat to catch a ball. Assuming a catcher did do this in fair territory, all runners and the batters would be awarded 3 bases, if the ball is in foul territory it would be a foul ball. In either case the batter would not be out.
No. Once a batted ball strikes a baserunner the ruling is a dead ball. In this instance, if the runner is in fair territory, they player struck by the ball is out, and the batter is credited with a single --- if the runner is in foul territory and struck this is a foul ball. Same would apply with hitting the batting coach
A score is immediately posted in the following situations:If the batter hits the ball or is bowled a no ball and then reaches the fourth post, a rounder is scored.If the batter fails to hit the ball and reaches the fourth post, a half-rounder is scored.If the batter hits the ball and reaches the second post, a half-rounder is scored.A fielder obstructs a batter running to a post, a half-rounder is scored.If the batter hits the ball and reaches the first, second or third post without being out, the batter stays at that post (and must keep in contact with it) until the next ball is bowled. As soon as the ball leaves the bowler's hand, such a batter can run to the next post, if they wish, even if a no-ball is called.If the batter does not keep contact with the post, the fielding side can stump the next post to get the player out. 2 batters cannot be at the same post so a batter must run on to the next post if the next batter catches up with them.A batter who continues in this way and reaches the fourth post scores a half-rounder.Once the fourth post is reached, the person goes to the back of the batter's line and awaits their next turn to bat.
If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.