answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Players in their defensive zone can hand pass the puck to anyone in the defensive zone; therefore, they can "shovel" the puck under their goalie in the crease to stop play. Play would be stopped provided the goalie was in check by an attacking player; otherwise, the goalie would be given a minor penalty if he didn't get rid of the puck within 3 secs. This penalty rule is at the discretion of the referee.

With regards to penalties and penalty shots associated to players playing the puck with their hands:

If any player other than the goalie closes his hand on the puck or picks the puck off the ice with his hand "OUTSIDE" of the goal crease, a minor penalty will be assessed most likely a delay of game.

If any player other than the goalie closes his hand on the puck or picks the puck off the ice with his hand "INSIDE" the crease, a penalty or penalty shot will be awarded to the non-offending team. (at the discretion of the referee)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-18 09:26:18
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Hockey

1 card

Hockey

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a player does not close his hand on the puck but does use his hand to push the puck under the goalie in the crease in ice hockey is it a penalty shot or just delay of game?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a player in ice hockey skate into the crease if the puck is in the crease?

Yes, but still cannot interfere with the goalie.


In hockey if the netminder has been pulled and a player saves the puck from going in by closing his hand on the puck in the crease?

The rule is that if a player closes his hand on the puck in the goal crease, then a penalty shot is awarded, if the goalie has been pulled when a penalty shot is awarded, then the referee awards a goal to the team instead.


In hockey if the netminder has been pulled and a player stops the puck from going in by closing his hand on the puck in the crease?

If this happens................ The player can touch the puck with his hand in the defesive zone, but if he does close his hand on the puck in the crease than a goal can be awarded if there is no goalie If there is a goalie then the other team can have a penalty shot.


Can an opposing hockey player interfere with the goalie?

That would result in a penalty.


How do you get a penalty for crease violation playing hockey?

If you are the offensive player, and any part of your body is in the crease when the puck isn't, then the ref blows the whistle and the faceoff is outside attacking zone in the neutral zone.The player in the crease does not get a minor penalty.


Can a hockey player be penalized during a penalty shot?

Yes, of course, if he hits or slashes the goalie for example...


What is the goalie crease and how big is it in lacrosse?

The goalie crease is the circle around the goal that I believe has a diameter of 9 feet for men and 8.5 feet for women. In men's lacrosse a goalie and the defenders of that same team can go in the crease and in women's only the goalie is allowed inside the crease. In women's if a defender steps into the crease then the game is stopped and a girl from the other team is given an 8 meter arch penalty shot, if someone on the offense of the other team steps into the goal the ball is given to the goalie and everyone must be a certain distance away to allow the goalie to clear the ball. Also with women's if an offensive player that is shooting the ball steps into the crease then the goal is not counted and the ball is given to the goalie.


Can a hockey player cover a puck on the goalies back?

Not with his hand if the goalie is in the crease. However, a player may fall (lay) on his goaltender, inadvertently covering the puck with his body.


Can a player in ice hockey skate into the crease if the puck is not in the crease?

Yes


When is a penalty shot awarded in ice hockey?

When a player is on a break-away with no defense between him and the goalie, and he's tripped, hooked, or anything that causes him to lose control and is considered a penalty, he is awarded a penalty shot.


Why are there eleven players in a hockey team?

if one team pulls their goalie to add a extra player their will be 11 players but the team with 6 players will not have a goalie. other wise their will be 10 players and 2 goalies unless there is a penalty in which case the player that commited the penalty will sit in the penalty box for 2 or 5 minutes depending on the call.


Can a goalie be hit in the crease?

No, the crease is the designated area on the ice surface where a goalie should be able to freely move about to stay square with the puck. If there is intentional contact, a penalty is assessed to the forechecking player. If there is incidental contact with the goaltender and a goal is scored on the play, the goal will be disallowed and the face off will take place outside the blue line.


How fast can a hockey goalie be?

A hockey goalie can be very fast. Not as fast as a player but still fast in a different way.


In hockey is the goalie in the shootout allowed to trip the player?

A goalie can easily be called for tripping, but they can get away easier with it than a player. If the player is tripped inside teh crease it can be deemed legal, or if it was a pokecheck and the player tripped or something like that it can be deemed okay, but if the goalie runs up sticks out his leg it could be called tripping. It can also be considered okay if the two players collide.


Can a lacrosse attack player land in the crease after a shot?

Yes but if you do before its a crease violation **** Say you dive into the crease, as long as the ball is in the net before you touch the ground, then you get the goal. Its super risky though, because this can vary from ref to ref and if you miss/ hit the goalie with the ball then you get a penalty


Can a goalie take a penalty shot?

no only a player can take a penalty shot.


Why can a penalty shot be made from in hockey?

A penalty shot is awarded when the player has a clear opportunity to skate up to and shoot on the goalie without an opposing player in between them AND an opposing player comes from behind (or from the side) and infracts the player (by tripping, hooking, throwing the stick, etc). There is some judgment by the referee as to whether the player had a clear break or not. If the penalty shot is not awarded, then a minor penalty is.


What is a word that rhymes with wholly and means a hockey player?

goalie


Can a hockey player cover a puck on the back of the goalie?

No, skaters cannot intentionally cover the puck or else it's a 2:00 delay of game penalty against the player. If the puck is covered by a skater in the crease, a penalty shot is awarded to the opposing team. The crease is the painted area in front of the goal, and that area extends upward from the ice surface up to infinity. (Think of a half cylinder extending upwards from the ice.) If a defending skater cups his hand around the puck or otherwise covers it while in this "half cylinder" a penalty shot is awarded. The puck does not have to be touching the ice.


If the puck goes underneath a defensive player while in the crease and then the player uses his hand to knock the puck out of the crease not gripping the puck. Is it a penatly shot?

Obviously, that would be up to the discretion of the referee but from attempting to literally intrepret the question, I would say no. According to National Hockey League rules, there seem to be two instances related to the situation mentioned in the question where penalty shots are awarded when the puck is in the crease: 1) A player falls on the puck in the goal crease 2) A player picks up the puck in the goal crease with his hand. SInce it sounds like the player was already on the ice and did nothing to attempt to cover the puck in the crease, and the player did not pick up or grip the puck while in the crease, I would interpret the rules to mean that a penalty shot would not be awarded. I would be interested in knowing the opinions of others on this situation.


Where does the goalkeeper do on penalty kicks?

the goalie stays in the middle and the player gets ready. the referee blows the whistle and the player shoots. the goalie tries to block the shot. that is the goalies role in penalty kicks.


What is a name for a hockey player that rhymes with wholly?

goalie


What does the hockey jersey represent?

The hockey jersey represents the team a player/goalie plays for.


When is icing waved off in hockey?

Icing is waved off for a number of reasons -the puck deflects off of a defending player -the offensive team is killing a penalty -the goalie plays the puck -the goalie moves out of his crease with the intention of playing the puck -the linesman feels that the defending player skating after the puck slows down in order to allow it to cross the red line, and a delayed icing call


Can a hockey player hit the puck with his hand?

If a player is in the defensive end, gloving the puck to a teammate is allowed. If a player makes hand contact with the puck in the neutral or offensive zones and a teammate touches it next, a hand pass will be called and play is blown dead. Should a player close his hand on the puck, a two minute minor penalty for Delay Of Game will be assessed. Doing so in the goal crease by a player, other than the goalie, results in a penalty shot for the non-offending team.