answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no if you miss a field goal you don't get the ball back. if you miss the field goal because it is blocked and you recover the ball behind the lime of scrimmage you get the ball back as long as the kick was not attempted on fourth down.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2015-07-15 18:52:59
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a field goal is attempted on third down and missed do you still get the fourth down?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a field goal is attempted and missed on third down can the team attempt another field goal on fourth down?

According the the nfl.com website once a field goal is missed the other team takes control of the football no matter what down it is.Here's the quote from nfl.com:All field goals attempted (kicker) and missed from beyond the 20-yard line will result in the defensive team taking possession of the ball at the spot of the kick. On any field goal attempted and missed where the spot of the kick is on or inside the 20-yard line, ball will revert to defensive team at the 20-yard line.Doesn't mention anything about downs. No. The reason you might sometimes see a team try for the field goal on 3rd down is in case of a bad snap or something they can spike the ball, throw to a receiver or just run with it and still have fourth down to try the field goal. If the ball fails to cross the line of scrimmage and the offense recovers, they get to kick it again. This usually only happens on a blocked kick. This applies on any down other than 4th. If the offense recovers on 3rd down, the next play would be 4th down. If the offense recovered on 4th down and didn't gain the necessary yards to make a 1st down, it would be a turnover on downs.The above answer is correct. As long as the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage on a blocked kick and the offensive team recovers the ball, the team may attempt another field goal as long as the blocked attempt did not occur on fourth down.


If a team tries for a field goal on 2nd down and misses do they still get the third and fourth downs?

If a field goal is attempted on any down other than fourth, the rules state that once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage the kicking team no longer has possession. This means that if a field goal is attempted on second down and the kick is blocked and the kicking team recovers behind the line of scrimmage, they retain possession. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, regardless of whether the kicking team recovers or not, possession goes to the defensive team.


Is a missed field goal still considered a field goal statistically?

No, it would be considered a field goal attempt. In statistics, you will see a column heading of FGA for the number of Field Goal Attempts and a column heading of FG for the number of successful Field Goals.


Can you still get pregnant even though you have missed a period?

If you missed your period then you are prego


Can you still have cramps if you missed your period?

Yes, you can still have cramps.


What is attempted assult?

Attempted Assult is going to assult someone but don't or get found out and still don't do it.


Where do you spot the ball on an icomplete pass after a fourth down attempt inside the 20 yard line?

still at the line of scrimmage anywhere you are on the field.


When Galileo died was he missed?

Galileo is still missed by people, even today. He is and was missed not only for his intellect and contribution to the community and the sciences, but for his unshakable resolve against insurmountable odds that the truth was still the truth, no matter what obstacles were placed in his path.


Why does Spiffy Horse still say I missed one on the sign up test?

Because you missed one of the questions obviously.


What if your ex boyfriend asked if you still missed him?

Answer his question woman.


Is Wright still alive?

Nope. You missed him by 98 years.


Can Horton still be purchased?

I missed purchasing Horton the who. is there any way I can still purchase one?

People also asked