answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-05 02:31:59
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter steps out of the batters box while the pitcher is delivering a pitch is it an automatic strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the pitcher hits the batters hand with the ball is the batter awarded a base?

yes


Who gets the putout when a batter hits the ball but he is out of the batters box and does the pitcher get a strike out?

The batter is out, scored 2u, not a strike out.


When a pitcher is intentionally walking a batter can the batter step over the plate to make contact with the ball?

No, if a batter steps out of the batters box and makes contact with the ball, he is out.


Can a pitcher switch from throwing right handed to left handed during a single at bat?

The pitcher has to establish which hand he will be throwing with before a batter steps into the batters box.


What is On Base?

A base-on-balls is an instance in Baseball where the batter is allowed to go directly to first base, due to the opposing pitcher delivering four balls.


Does the batter have to keep at least one foot int he batter's box throughout his time at bat?

No. The batter can step out between pitches and if he is not in the batters box the pitcher can not pitch. However he may not step out once the pitcher is in motion and if any part of him is out of the box when the ball is hit he will be called out.


What is a base-on-balls?

A base-on-balls is an instance in baseball where the batter is allowed to go directly to first base, due to the opposing pitcher delivering four balls.


What is the umpires decision if the batter steps out of the box whilst batting?

MLB Rule 6.02 is pretty clear:The batter shall take his position in the batters box promptly when it is his time at bat.(b) The batter shall not leave his position in the batters box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup.PENALTY: If the pitcher pitches, the umpire shall call Ball or Strike, as the case may be."The official commentary on this rule says even more: "Umpires may grant a hitters request for Time once he is in the batters box, but the umpire should eliminate hitters walking out of the batters box without reason. If umpires are not lenient, batters will understand that they are in the batters box and they must remain there until the ball is pitched."Unless an umpire agrees to call, "Time" at the request of the batter, the pitcher may pitch at will, and the umpire can call a strike if the pitcher throws the ball down the middle of the plate without a batter there. If a batter refuses a request to re-enter the box, the umpire can call a strike even without a pitch.


A batter is in the batters box the pitcher throws and the batter hits the ball into his foot and the ball goes foul but what is the call?

its a dead ball and a strike, but not strike 3, just like a foul.


What is a base on balls?

A base on balls is an instance in baseball where the batter is allowed to go directly to base without the possibility of being out, due to the pitcher delivering four balls.


What direction does the batter face when in the batters box?

The batter faces towards home plate, with their feet just further than shoulder width apart. If the batter is right handed, they will stand to the left of the plate, looking over their left shoulder at the pitcher. If the batter is left handed, they will stand to the right of the plate, looking of their right shoulder at the pitcher.


In cricketwhat is the first batter called?

The first batter in cricket is called an "opener". In fact there are two batters that take field at the start (with one facing the bowler/pitcher) and they are both called openers

People also asked