answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, the hitter coming in would just have to assume the original hitters count.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter is hurt during a at bat not from the ball can a designated batter relief during the at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

it depends on the situation. If the count is two strikes then it is an out because if the batter is insied the box then it is a fould ball and a two strike foul ball on a bunt attempt is an out. If there is one strike or zero strikes then the batter can be called out or a foul ball. If he is still in the batter's box and the ball touches him then it is a fould ball but if the batter is outside the batter's box and the ball touches him, then he is out.


Who is charged with the batter when a new pitcher enters the game to face that batter with a count of 2-0 already on the batter from the first pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with a 2 ball 0 strikes on the batter and the batter receives a base on balls it is charged to the preceding pitcher. Any other action such as a base hit, fielder's choice, reaching base on an error, etc., is charged to the relief pitcher. (Rule 10.18 (g)).


Batter hits the ball with one foot out of the batters box?

If the batter makes contact with a batted ball while in the batter's box, it is a "dead" ball and declared foul. ---------- True enough, sort of. If a batted ball touches the batter while he is still in the batter's box, then it is foul. However, if the batter hits the ball, and it comes to rest in the batter's box or the batted ball is touched by a defensivce player while it is in the batter's box, and the ball did not touch the batter, it is either fair or foul, depending on the position of the ball at the time it came to rest or was touched by a defensive player. The front portion of the batter's box is in fair territory, and if a batted ball comes to rest or is touched by a defensive player in that part of the batter's box, then it's a fair ball.


Do you get relief from a plugged ball in the rough?

Normally, no. Governed by Rule 25-2. You need to stay on the fairway to get relief. Local rules may provide for relief under unusual circumstances.Is there ever free relief for a ball that is embedded in the rough?Only if the Committee has made a Local Rule permitting relief for an embedded ball through the green, due to abnormal course conditions that warrant such relief. The relief has to specifically permit relief for an embedded ball through the green, for example, it is not sufficient for a notice to say ‘”Winter Rules in operation”.


When playing arc ball softball batter fouls ball to catcher must ball go certain height for batter to be out?

It has to go above the batter's head.


How can you rewrite ''the batter hits the ball into the outfield.'' into to an imperative?

Batter hit the ball into the outfield.


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


Can a golfer take relief from an embedding ball on the fairway or the rough?

You are entitled to a free drop if the ball is plugged in the fairway or closely mown area, that is apron, fringe etc, (nearest point of relief, no nearer the hole). If the ball is plugged in the rough, there is no relief.


If the umpire sees that a batter is not trying to make an effort to move and the ball hits the batter. i know that he is not awared the basebut is it now a ball or a strike?

MLB Rule 6.08(b) states that a batter is awarded first base when: "He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched." So, if the ball was in the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a strike. If the ball was outside the strike zone when it touched the batter, it would be called a ball.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

I don't think so. Rule 6.05 (f) states the batter is out if he attempts to hit a 3rd strike then the ball touches him.According to MLB Rule 6.08(b), the batter is entitled to first base when:"He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless(1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or(2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball;If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance."If the batter attempts to hit the pitch and the ball strikes him, according to rule he is NOT entitled to first base and the ball is ruled dead.