answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The play is scored as a fielder's choice, regardless of whether the preceding baserunner is out or safe. Any time an infielder attempts to put out a preceding runner other than the batter, it is scored as a fielders choice. From Section 2, Definition of Terms in the Official MLB Rule Book defines a Fielders Choice as follows: FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal). It is scored as a fielder's choice. rule 10.05(f) A base hit shall be scored when a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner, and in the scorer's judgment the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort. You won't find many official scorers that will give a batter a hit on that, unless the batter would have beaten the play out anyway. (i.e., a slow roller, high hop, deep in the hole, etc.) In the context of the question posed here, we almost have to assume the question was asked to imply that it was a routine, well-struck, fielded ground-ball and the shortstop made a conscious decision to attempt to get out the lead runner.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-08-08 01:07:02
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits the ball to shortstop and the shortstop throws to third base trying to get the lead runner but all runners are safe is this scored as a hit or a fielder's choice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a batter given a hit if he hits a ball to shortstop and shortstop can not throw out hitter but throws out runner at 3rd in a rundown from 2nd base instead of throwing to 1st?

It isn't a hit. It is a fielders choice.


Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


Can a batter get a base hit and have a fielders choice on the same play?

No.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


Is it a hit when an infield attemps a fielder's choice and the runners are all called safe with no errors?

No matter what, in a fielders choice play the batter is given and 0 for 1 in the record books. It is based on the thought that if the defense had attempted a play on the batter he most surely would have been out. You misunderstood the question. If a fielder's choice is attmpted, but all runners are save and no error is scored it's a hit ... since the fielder's choice didn't actually happen.


Runner on second and batter hits grounder to short and throws out runner at third is batter credited with a hit?

No hit it is a fielders choice


With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


Does the batter get an RBI if he bats into a fielders choice and a runner scores?

Yes. There are only a few times that a batter helps a teammate score but does not get an RBI. Example 1: Bases loaded, 0 outs, batter grounds into double play 2nd baseman to first baseman, runner at third scores. The batter is not credited with an RBI. Example 2: Runner on 3rd, 2 outs, batter hits a routine groundball to shortstop, but the shortstop makes an erro. The batter is not credited with an RBI because if the ball was played cleanly the run would not have scored.


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


Is it a hit if the runner running to 3rd base gets tagged out but there is no force?

No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


If a batter reaches base via a fielders choice is it counted as a hit?

No it counts against a players average but if a run scores it counts as an rbi.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


What is the scoring if you cannot assume an IF could get the batter but the runner makes a delayed attempt to advance on a bobbled ball and gets thrown out or caught in a rundown?

fielders choice


Is a squeeze bunt a hit?

It would depend on the situation: - If the runners are all safe and the out went to 1st and the batter was out, then it would be a Sac Bunt - If the play went to any other base/home (no matter if they are safe or out) then it would be a Fielders Choice - If on the bunt, it is determined that the batter would have been safe at 1st even if the play would have went directly to 1st, then it would be a hit


Do you get an rbi on fielders choice?

sometimes


Does a fielders choice count as an at-bat?

If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3


What does batter get credited for if he reaches first base on a fielders choice?

The at bat is recorded like an out so they would be 0 for 1, FC, even though they reached base safely.


Does fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes.


Can you score a run on 3rd out fielders choice?

No.


Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Does batter get a rbi on fielders choice?

Yes, the batter will usually be given an RBI on a Fielder's Choice in the event of a run scoring the only way the home team's official scorer will not give him an RBI on a Fielder's Choice is in event of the runner in the scorer's viewer not originally being able to score on a player and was only able to do so as a result of the defensive team's miscue.