answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes it is a hit. If the ball bounces off a car three miles away and come back in the strike zone the batter can hit it. If he doesn't it is a strike. As long as it gets to the batter it is playable unless it hits the batter.

AnswerOfficial Baseball rules, definitions of terms section 2.00: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.

That first answer is so far off base it isn't even funny -- as soon as it hits the dirt it can only be a strike if the batter swings -- this isn't crickett

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-12 21:01:02
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits a pitch that was thrown into the dirt and gets on base is that considered a hit?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When a batter hits safely to the out field and is thrown out at second is he credited with a single?

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


Is tagging up in baseball considered a stolen base?

No, a stolen base only occurs when a batter attempts to take a base during a pitch.


Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.


What happens if a batter gets hit by a pitch?

If a batter is hit by a pitch, that batter automatically advances to first base.


If the batter attempts to hit the ball but the pitch hits her does she get the base?

No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.


Is it a base hit when you get thrown out at second base when a runner advances to home?

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.


What happens when a batter has thrown four balls?

If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


What happens when a batter gets hit by a pitch?

the batter advances to first base


When can a batter be hit by pitch and not be awarded 1st base?

If a batter is hit by a pitch and the umpire determines he was "leaning over the plate", or "moved into the pitch" then he may not be awarded first base and the pitch will be called a strike or ball


Is the batter credited with a double if he is thrown out while advancing to third base?

Yes, the batter made it safely to second base. Therefore, he is credited with a double.


Is it a sacrific if the batter bunts a ball with runners on first base and third base and is thrown out at first?

yes


Is it a plate appearance if the batter gets thrown out but a runner scores from third base?

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.


Why does the batter get a free pass to first base after ball hits his hand on an attempted bunt?

It's still considered a hit-by-pitch.


If you get hit with a pitch in fast pitch softball do you get a free base?

Yes, if you are the batter.


What is the penalty for an illegal pitch in little league fast pitch softball?

If no one is on base then a ball is awarded to the batter. If a runner or runners are on base then they will be moved up one base and a ball is awarded to the batter.


What is the least number of pitches a pitcher can throw in a baseball game?

Zero. If a pitcher delays the pitch or if the pitcher does an illegal move the umpire is to award the batter a ball. Done 4 consecutive times the batter is awarded 1st base. If then the Pitcher picks the runner off, the first out is recorded with no pitch being thrown. Also if a batter delays the umpire is to issue the batter a strike done three consecutive times the batter would be called out. So it is possible to record an out with no pitch being thrown. Repeat for each out of each inning. Likely the answer that is being looked for is one pitch for each out of th game 27.


Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base). He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.


If there are two outs in the inning and there is a person on second with a full count and he steals and the batter walks can the runner get thrown out at third?

The runner on second base can be thrown out provided that first base is empty


In softball what is a walk?

A walk is when 4 balls are thrown that are not in the strike zone of the umpire. the balls may be thrown in any order, such as a strike, 2 balls, a strike and a 2 balls. The batter is then walked. You can also be hit by a pitch, which would earn you a base as a walk.


If a batter hits a base hit but is thrown out at second is he awarded the base hit?

If he tries to stretch a single into a double and is thrown out as a result, then no, it is scored as an out at second base, not a base hit. The above is incorrect. The batter would be credited with a base hit -- specifically, a single -- and also as being thrown out at second. Check the box score from the Phillies night game of 2012 September 9 -- in the fifth inning Ryan Howard was thrown out at second exactly as described as above, but was credited with a hit.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


Does a runner at third score on two outsif batter if thrown out trying to go to second base?

Yes, the runner on third base with two outs will be considered as a scored run in the event of the batter reaching first base and advancing to second base at his own risk however a fielder throws to 2B and gets the batter out however in the event of the defense recording the third out before the runner on third base scores then the run by him will not count.


Does the runner score from third if batter tries to stretch a single and gets thrown out at second base?

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide