answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Unless you are talking about professional Baseball, yes the batter can decline to take the issued walk. Only in minor leagues such as competitive fastpitch softball can you reject this. However, it rarely happens because the batter sometimes would rather get the free base than ground out, pop out, or strike out!

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2005-04-30 01:08:39
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter gets hit by a pitch ball can the batter decline to go to 1st and continue his at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a batter decline taking first base and continue his atbat after being hit by a pitched ball?

No he or she can not continue batting. Once a player is hit by a pitch, they are automatically given first base and that ends their at bat.


Does a batter get an RBI with a batter on third with a wild pitch or passed ball?

Only if the bases are loaded and the wild pitch or passed ball is ball four.


If a ball comes to the batter and it's a good ball and it's not swung at is that consided a strike out?

If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."


What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


When at bat is it a foul ball if the batter is hit by the pitch on the hands?

If the ball strikes the bat handle and then the hands it is a foul ball. If the ball strikes the batter on the hands he is awarded first base, provided the pitch is not in the strike zone and the batter has made an attempt to avoid the ball. A batter is not entitled to first base if he is hit with a pitch while attempting to hit the ball.


When a batter is hit by a pitch and the ball goes past the catcher can a runner on second advance to home?

When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.


Is it a ball or a hit by a pitch when a batter is hit by a ball that bounches?

It's a ball.


Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

If the batter is in fair territory, the batter is out. If the batter is not in fair territory, for example the batter is still in the batter's box, the ball is called foul.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter - slide1?

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.


Does a HBP count as a strike or ball?

a ball because it must be a ball to hit the batter because if it weren't then it must be ruled that the batter leaned in on the pitch.


How do you pitch a Wiffle Ball?

By throwing the ball in the general direction of the batter with an intent to make him/her miss and "wiff" at the pitch.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


What does throw to a batter mean?

to pitch the ball over the plate OS the batter can attempt to hit it.


What is a whoosh ball?

A whoosh ball is a pitch of any variety that is swung at and missed by the batter. A "whoosh pitch" is any kind of change-up that fools the batter into swinging noticeably out of synch with (before or after) the pitch arrives.


When bunting can the batter pull it back and have the pitch be a ball?

yes


What if batter swings and hits a bounced ball on the pitch and hits it fair?

Fair ball.


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


When trying to bunt the batter is hit by pitch?

If the batter has the bat out over the plate when the ball hits them it is a strike... As long as the batter makes an attempt at the ball, like pushing or moving the bat to the ball then yes it would be a strike if they were hit.If the batter simply has the bat over the plate and is hit by the pitch out of the strike zone then its not a strike.


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


If a batter swings a bat at a pitch and misses the ball but is hit by the ball in the process is the batter awarded first base or is it a strike due to the swing?

Its a strike


When a batter gets hit by a pitch is it an automatic dead ball?

Yes, it is a dead ball and the batter gets a free base (He/she gets to go to 1st)


Can the runner advance on a bounced pitch that hits the batter?

As long as the pitcher is the last person to touch the ball before the batter is hit, the ball becomes dead and is counted as a hit by pitch. The runners can only advance if they are forced over by the hit batter.


If the batter attempts to hit the ball but the pitch hits her does she get the base?

No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.