answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

For there to be a legal catch, there must be a catch and voluntary release of the ball. Therefore, if the ball knocks the glove off the fielder's hand, he didn't meet either of the criteria for a catch: he didn't catch it, and he didn't release the ball voluntarily.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2009-12-06 03:05:07
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batted ball hits a fielder's glove and knocks the glove to the ground but stays in the glove is the batter out if the fielder picks up glove before the ball touches the ground?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


If a Batter is hit by his own infield fly ball while running to base is he out?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.05(g) states that a batter is out when "His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder". If the fair ball touches the batter before it touches a fielder, the batter is called out.


If a batted ball hits a runner and pops up in the air and a fielder catches the ball is the batter out also?

No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.


Does the batter get first base after he hits the ball which hits his runner going to second?

Yes runner is out (unless the ball has already gone by a fielder other than the pitcher), the ball is dead and the batter/runner gets first base.Correction:It is not relevant as if the ball goes past the fielders (only if it touches a fielder first) -- any time a batted ball first hits a runner in fair territory without touching a fielder first -- the runner is out, the putout goes to the nearest fielder, and the batter is still credited with a single and gets 1st baseCorrection to the correction:It does matter if it goes past the fielder first. This is infielders other than the pitcher and catcher. Because the fielders have had the opportunity to make a play on the ball, the ball is no longer dead. The batter would then advance to first at their own risk and the other runners would advance at their own risk too.


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


Can a baserunner collide with fielder catching a batted ball?

no, it would be batter's interference


Does a batter get credit with a basehit if he misses first base?

He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


What happens when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball

People also asked