answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

When a batted ball hits a runner,

A) the runner is out for interference, unless

B) the ball first touches a defensive player or an umpire, then the runner is not out and the ball is live, unless

C) the umpire judges the runner deliberately made contact with the ball, whereupon the umpire may call the runner out for interference and may also call the batter out for the runner's interference.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-21 11:52:07
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batted ball hits a base runner is the batter safe or out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


When a batted ball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).


Is a caught ball a hit even if the runner gets on base?

If a batted ball is caught in the air, the batter is out and would not be on base. It would not be a "hit."


How do you score a runner being hit by a batted ball?

I am unsure in the scorebook, however the runner is out and the batter is oddly awarded a base hit.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


Is a batted ball fair or foul if it strikes a runner while he is on base?

It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


If a batted ground ball hits a base runner who is on the base is the runner safe or out?

A batted ball that hits a runner in fair territory, without first being touched by a defender (or passing a fielder other than the pitcher) results in -- a dead ball, runner is ruled out, and the batter gets first base. According to the old rules, batter is credited with a single, but currently the batter is credited with a fielder's choice unless the umpire judges that the ball would have been a single. The putout goes to the nearest defensive player. Being on base doesn't change the situation. The only exception is if the base runner, while on the base (force or not), is hit by an Infield Fly. Ref 7.08. "Any runner is out when... (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;"


If a base runner is hit by a batted ball is he out if it goes past 2 fielders?

A Base runner is out anytime a batted ball hits him, unless he is touching a base.


What is the ruling on a ball hit to a fielder and a runner runs into the fielder?

If a runner runs into a fielder making a play on a batted ball, it is interference, and the runner is out; the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners return to their last legally occupied base at the time of the pitch, unless forced by the batter. If in the umpire's judgment the interference is flagrant, the batter may also be called out.


Is batter out if hit by ball that he hit?

When a batter hits a ball and then leaves the batter's box, he immediately becomes a base runner. Rule 7.08(f) states that a runner is out if "He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder." I suppose a wildly spinning, batted ball could bounce towards the first base line and touch the batter-runner while he was running to first base. In that case, the batter - runner would be out. Satchel Paige loved to tell the story of how "Cool Papa" Bell once hit a screaming line drive that hit Bell as he was sliding into second base. In that case Bell would clearly have been out.


What baseball rule is this If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single?

Baseball rules provide that a runner is out when he is struck by a batted ball (provided the ball was not touched by a fielder first). All other runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. However, the batter is awarded first base and all runners that have to advance because of this advance. The Official Baseball Rules are 5.09(f) and 7.08(f).


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


Is it a fielder's choice if the batted ball hits the advancing runner which results in the batter getting 1st base on the dead ball?

Just to be clear the runner that got hit is out. As for the batter, it would be scorers discretion. If the scorekeeper believes he would have made it on base anyways ( perhaps the ball was hit to the gap or he was within feet of the base by the time the player would have gotten to the ball) then it could be scored as an infield hit


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.


Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.