answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

you wouldn't want to go back to a base you already touched

----------

...but if it was an open base, the runner could return to it, but it would be a pretty strange thing to do..........Yes he can go either way but if he passed a base like 3rd and wants to go back to 2nd he must retouch 3rd to go to 2nd. when your out your out of live play unless you interfere

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Yes, as long as he or she touches any previously touched bases in reverse order.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

No

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a base runner touches a base and a following runner touches a base and the following runner is out can the proceding runner retun to the same base the following runner touched?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.


What happens when a baseball hits a base runner and goes into the dugout?

According to MLB rule 7.08(f) "A runner is out when ... He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance." Since the ball is dead the instant it touches the runner, where it goes afterwards is irrelevant.


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


Is the runner out if the fielder touches him with his body and not the ball?

No, he must be tagged with the ball, either while still in the glove or with the ball. He can't just be touched with the glove without the ball in it either.


Runner at third base goes home and touches home plate on a fair batted ball After touching the plate he hears someone say it was foul so he retreats to 3bA runner made it to third on the batted ball?

As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


Does a batter get credit with a basehit if he misses first base?

MLB Rule 10.02(a)(1)(iv) states: No time at bat shall be charged when a player is awarded first base because of interference. THIS IS NOT THE ANSWER AS IT DOES NOT ADDRESS THE QUESTION. The correct answer is that the batter gets credited for a single. See the following rule: rule 10.05 a base hit shall be scored in the following cases:(e) when a fair ball which has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire. EXCEPTION: Do not score a hit when a runner is called out for having been touched by an infield fly. (in this instance, the batter would have been automatically out on the infield fly rule)


Old mlb rules hitting runner with ball?

If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]


Where is the Senior LL rule that permits a baseball home plate umpire to call out a runner who was touched high fived by a teammate before the runner touched home plate?

No runner is allowed to be touched while running the bases. Only a bad umpire would enforce this rule on a high five. There is no rule that prohibits touching a runner, but there is a rule prohibiting physically assisting a runner.


Is it an out if the glove with the ball touches a base and then pops out of the glove?

This would probably be the judgment of the umpire. If he felt the ball was under control as the fielder touched the base, the runner would be out. If he felt that the ball was not fully under control and hitting the base caused the ball to come out of the glove, the runner would be safe.


Is a runner out if hit by batted ball while standing on a base?

From the official rule book Rule 7.08: the runner is out if "He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out; Rule 7.08(f) Comment: If two runners are touched by the same fair ball, only the first one is out because the ball is instantly dead. If runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not touching his base, both runner and batter are out." Rule 7.09 is also relevant. The runner is not out if 1) the ball was first deflected by a fielder or 2) if the umpire is convinced that the ball went through or past the fielder untouched, and in the umpire's judgment no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball.If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference." However, if in the umpire's judgment the runner intentionally kicks the batted ball, the runner shall be called out for interference. If a runner is touched by a batted ball in foul territory he is not out though.