answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw.

If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-13 21:50:51
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When can a runner steal a base?

A base runner can steal a base at any time while he is on base. The only reason they wouldn't give him the steal is if the ball was fouled or he was thrown out by the catcher.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


If the ball hits the runner stealing home plate is he out?

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...


If a thrown ball hits a base runner if he safe or out?

safe


Is a base runner out when hit by a thrown ball?

No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.


Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.


Runner on third taking a lead is hit by a thrown ball from catcher while in fair territory is he safe or out?

He is out for interfering with a thrown ball while running out of the baseline. The same is true with a runner running to first base. Tom Seaver said that when he saw a runner running to first in fair territory he would throw the ball into his back to get the quick out.


Is it a dead ball if the ball is thrown to first base and hits the base coach?

MLB Rule 5.08 is pretty clear: If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.


With a runner on first base the pitcher overthrows ball to first where should the runner be awarded?

The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


Runner going to first and ball is thrown into dugout how many bases awarded?

ONE (1)... and one (1) for every base runner ... two (2) if the ball is thrown in the stands ...

People also asked