It is a fielders choice
no! that would be interfering, and you will be out
Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice
Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.
If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.
No, not unless he's deemed to have intentionally interfered with the ball.
no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)
If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base
If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.
Right fielders ordinarily have better arms because they are in the farthest position from 3rd base. If a ball is hit far out to left field, the runner is often let have 1st base. Right fielders need a rocket of an arm in order to stop the runner from getting on 3rd base, or rounding 3rd to home
The runner is out if he is in fair territory.
If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.
If a base runner is hit by a batted ball before the ball contacts, or passed an infielder they are out... once the ball passes, or is contacted by an opposing player there is no penalty for being hit.
The runner must remain on the base until the ball is in the fielders glove. Once the fielder has the ball securely(in the glove and the glove closed), the runner can advance to the next base. The fielder can throw you out at the base.Actually the runner may leave the base once the ball is touched by a fielder.
I guess if you were to call it something it would be called advancing bases, or if the coaches were talking about the runner it would be called advancing the runner.
No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.
They don't have to run to second base, but the fielders can either tag them or throw them out by taking the ball to second base. If the fielders decide to first get the out at first it states in the rules of baseball that the lead runner can stay at first if that's what he chooses to do.
If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.
Nothing, as long as the runner is touching the base. A runner is out only if touched by a batted ball that is still in play if he is off the base.
if the umpire thinks the fielder with the glove "has control of" the ball, then runner is out. i can't imagine this happening.
If a baserunner is in foul ground and is hit by a batted ball, the ball is declared foul and all runners return to their previously occupied base, regardless of whether or not the runner that was hit was standing on the base.
As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.