answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A Base runner is out anytime a batted ball hits him, unless he is touching a base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-24 05:51:50
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a base runner is hit by a batted ball is he out if it goes past 2 fielders?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


Can a base runner knock the ball out of a fielders glove?

no! that would be interfering, and you will be out


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


When in baseball do the fielders need to tag the runner out?

Not always. If a fielder is in possession of the ball AND in physical contact to a base that a base runner must run, then that base runner is out.


What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


If a base runner is hit by a fielders throw is he out?

No, not unless he's deemed to have intentionally interfered with the ball.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Is the base runner out if the Baseball is kicked by the base runner during play?

If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.


Why are Right fielders better arms?

Right fielders ordinarily have better arms because they are in the farthest position from 3rd base. If a ball is hit far out to left field, the runner is often let have 1st base. Right fielders need a rocket of an arm in order to stop the runner from getting on 3rd base, or rounding 3rd to home


Base runner hit by batted ball?

The runner is out if he is in fair territory.


When a batted ball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner, the ball is dead. The runner is out and any other runners return to the base they started on. The batter must re-bat.


What is the official score when a base runner is hit by a batted ball?

If a base runner is hit by a batted ball before the ball contacts, or passed an infielder they are out... once the ball passes, or is contacted by an opposing player there is no penalty for being hit.


What is the baseball tag up rule?

The runner must remain on the base until the ball is in the fielders glove. Once the fielder has the ball securely(in the glove and the glove closed), the runner can advance to the next base. The fielder can throw you out at the base.Actually the runner may leave the base once the ball is touched by a fielder.


If a batted ball hits a runner on third base but the ball hits the runner on the foot which is in foul territory is he still out?

No


In softball when a runner gets to the base before the fielders get the ball is called a what?

I guess if you were to call it something it would be called advancing bases, or if the coaches were talking about the runner it would be called advancing the runner.


Is a base runner out when hit by a thrown ball?

No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.


If a person is on first base and the ball is hit on the ground they have to run to the second base?

They don't have to run to second base, but the fielders can either tag them or throw them out by taking the ball to second base. If the fielders decide to first get the out at first it states in the rules of baseball that the lead runner can stay at first if that's what he chooses to do.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


What if a ball hits a baserunner while standing on a base?

Nothing, as long as the runner is touching the base. A runner is out only if touched by a batted ball that is still in play if he is off the base.


Runner on base gets hit with batted ball is he out?

yep


Is a runner out if hit by batted ball while standing on a base?

No


During a force out at second base if the fielder does not transfer the ball to the covering defender but merely holds onto the ball in the other fielders glove is the runner out?

if the umpire thinks the fielder with the glove "has control of" the ball, then runner is out. i can't imagine this happening.


If a batted ball hits a base runner who is on the bag but is in foul ground what happens?

If a baserunner is in foul ground and is hit by a batted ball, the ball is declared foul and all runners return to their previously occupied base, regardless of whether or not the runner that was hit was standing on the base.


Runner at third base goes home and touches home plate on a fair batted ball After touching the plate he hears someone say it was foul so he retreats to 3bA runner made it to third on the batted ball?

As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.