answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The ways to get on base without getting a hit are:

(1) Walk
(2) Hity by pitch
(3) Error
(4) Fielder's choice
(5) Interference
(6) Obstruction
(7) Wild pitch (uncaught third strike)
(8) Passed ball (uncaught third strike)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-22 01:28:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-21 23:14:05

batter get to first base without getting a hit?

User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many ways can a batter get to first base without getting a hit?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is a base hit when the batter makes it to first base in softball?

It can be. A base hit is just when you hit the ball, and get on base without getting out.


In softball what is a safe hit?

A safe hit is considered a hit that is not fielded and the batter makes it to first base without getting out.


Does a batter get first base when swinging and getting hit by a ball?

yes they get a walk on first base but on any other base but the person on first doesn't move.


How can a batter reach first base without hitting the ball?

In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free). Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base. You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.


In major league baseball how many can a batter reach first base without getting a hit?

They can reach 1st base via walk, error, hit by pitch or fielder's choice.


If a batter on a dropped third strike runs to first base and over runs the base can he be tagged out before returning to the base?

No. One rule without exception is the right for the batter-runner to overrun first base without jeopardy of being tagged out unless an attempt is made to go to second.


A batter over runs first base and returns in the field of play but getting tagged before he is back on base is he out?

Yes, he is out.


How can batter reach first without making contact?

base on balls, or hit by pitch.


After an infield hit can the batter be tagged out for making an attempt to go to second base without crossing the first base line?

no


A hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

A hit


Does a batter advance to first on a walk?

Yes, he does. A batter is walked as a result of gaining four balls, or bad pitches. After getting four balls, they are allowed to walk to first base.


What is the hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

What the name of the hit that gets the batter to first base safely


How can a baseball player legally reach first base without getting hit?

The batter can reach on an fielding error, take a walk (four balls), get hit by a pitch, or strike out on a wild pitch and beat the ball to 1st base.


Can a batter that has been walked take off to second?

When a batter is walked, they can only go to first base at first. Once they are on first base and the next batter is up to bat, they can steal, or advance on a base hit.


In baseball what are seven ways to get to first base without getting a hit?

1. Walk 2. Hit by Pitch 3. Error 4. Fielder's choice 5. Strikeout dropped by catcher 6. Catcher interferes with swing 7. A fielder obstructs the base path of a batter running to first base


Is there a force out at 1st base in a softball?

every out at first base that occurs after a batter has hit the ball is a force out since the batter is required to advance to first base.


Can a batter advance to first base with no pitch?

In certain rule sets, yes. NFHS rules allow a batter to be intentionally walked without actually pitching to him.


How many ways can a batter reach first base in softball?

A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.


Does the batter get to advance to first base if the ball hits the ground and then the batter?

Yes, as long as the batter makes an attempt to get out of the way of the pitch they are awarded first base on a pitched ball that touches the ground and then the batter.


The ball hits the ground then hits batter does the batter get first base?

The batter does not get first base. They only get first when it hits them directly. WRONG! Rule 2.0 states that a ball which hits the ground first then hits the batter is ruled a hit batsman, and he is awarded 1st base.


Who gets to first base first - left or right handed batter?

A right handed batter would get to first base first because a left handed batter has to take extra time turning around to start running.


Minor ball tourney -- batter is awarded base on balls --- runner advances to 1st base and advances to second without stopping at first - is this legal-what if he stops at first and then goes to 2?

yes he can do it


Is a batter out if he is walked and goes past first base and is tagged returning to first base?

no i dont know about in baseball, but in fastpitch softball... the batter would be out


What is single in baseball?

When you hit the ball and run to first base and then stop running without getting out


What happens if you get walked?

In baseball statistics, a base on balls (BB), better known as a walk, is credited to a batter and against a pitcher when a batter receives four pitches that the umpire calls balls. It is called a "walk" because the batter is then entitled to walk to first base, or more specifically (as defined in the rules of baseball) he is "entitled to first base without liability to be put out." Any baserunner who is forced advances as well. Receiving a base on balls does not count as an official at bat for a batter but does count as a plate appearance. A pitcher can also choose to intentionally walk a batter. This is usually done for the purpose of facing a different batter that the team feels they have a better chance of getting out, or to allow a double play possibility if first base is open with less than two outs. A hit by pitch is not considered a walk, though the consequences are often the same for both.