Best Answer

five times

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many times Mr Viswanath Anand won the World Chess Champion Title?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who did viswanathan anand defeat in 2012 to retain the world chess champion title?

alexei shirov of spain

Who was the first chess champion in the world?

Wilhelm Steinitz ; see related link below .William SteinitzWilhelm Stientz.Wilhelm Steinitz defeated Johann Zukertort, in 1886, and held the title until 1894.

Who was the first Indian to secure a grandmaster title in chess?

Viswanathan Anand is India's first Grandmaster .

Who is world no 1 in chess?

As of march 22nd, 2010, Viswanathan Anand is the current world chess champion. However, he will soon play Topalov for the title. Anand is still world champion after winning topalov 6 1/2 to 5 1/2 its 5/30/2010

Who is Boris Spassky?

Boris Spassky is a Russian chess player, and the tenth World Chess Champion, a title he held between 1969 and 1972.

Who is the world's most popular chess player?

The world's most popular chess player in the world was Bobby Fischer. Nowadays Garry Kasparov is very popular as well. EDIT: All true. However, Kasparov no longer plays competitive chess so his popularity, as far as a chess player, has waned, and Fischer is, well, dead. Currently the most popular Grandmasters are Vaselin Topalov, Vishy Anand, and Magnus Carlsen, and, if you are from the USA, Hikaru Nakamura. Currently, Vishy Anand is the reigning World Chess Champion recognized by FIDE. He won the undisputed title in 2008 against Vladimir Kramnik. This match was necessary as Anand was crowned the champion via being the victor in a Championship Tournament, not as a result of Match Play. The result against Kramnik put that 'dispute' to rest. Vaselin Topalov defeated Gata Kamsky to win the right to challenge Anand in the next championship match, which has yet to be scheduled in its finality. also Kasporov

Champion chess player of the early 20th cenury?

The official world championship is generally regarded to have begun in 1886, when the two leading players in Europe, Wilhelm Steinitz and Johann Zukertort, played a match. From 1886 to 1946, the champion set the terms, requiring any challenger to raise a sizable stake and defeat the champion in a match in order to become the new world champion. From 1948 to 1993, the championship was administered by FIDE, the world chess federation. In 1993, the reigning champion (Garry Kasparov) broke away from FIDE, leading to the creation of two rival championships. This situation remained until 2006, when the title was unified at the World Chess Championship 2006. The current world champion is Viswanathan Anand, who won the World Chess Championship 2007 and successfully defended his title against former world champion Vladimir Kramnik in the World Chess Championship 2008, and again against the challenger Veselin Topalov in the World Chess Championship 2010. He will defend his title against challenger Boris Gelfand in the World Chess Championship 2012. In addition, there is a separate event for women only, for the title of Women's World Champion, as well as separate competitions and titles for juniors (under 20 years of age), seniors (60+ for men, 50+ for women), and computers. Computers are barred from competing for the open title.

How many times has vishwanath an and won the fide world chess title?

Viswanathan Anand has won the World Chess Championship in 2000, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2012 .

Which Indian won the title of Grand Master in chess after Vishwanathan Anand?

1) Viswanathan Anand(1988) 2) Dibyendu Barua (1991) 3) Praveen Thipsay (1997) See the related link for further information.

What is the meaning of the kio in Japanese culture?

Kio or Kioh is on of the seven title a shogui (japanese chess) champion can earn.

Who is the highest ranked chess player of all times and what is his ranking?

As of 2009, November 1st, Veselin Topalov from Bulgaria, rated 2810 FIDE, holds the title of highest rated chess player. The highest rating of all time is held by Garry Kasparov, rated 2851 FIDE, in July 1991.

How many world grandmaster?

The title Grandmasteris awarded to strong chess players by the world chess organization FIDE. Apart from World Champion, Grandmaster is the highest title a chess player can attain. Once achieved, the title is held for life. In chess literature it is usually abbreviated to GM(similarly, FMstands for FIDE Master and IMfor International Master). The abbreviation IGMfor International Grandmaster can also sometimes be found, particularly in older literature.There are 1174 grandmasters of chess.