Best Answer

It depends wheather you are a rightie or a leftie.

If you throw with your right hand, you should have your left foot forward when you release the ball. So take either one step with your left foot, or two steps right, left. (that's what I do.)

If you throw with your left, do the opposite

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

You can only take one step during a softball pitch. Most pitchers take a "leap" instead of a step to maximize the velocity of the ball. Pitchers aim for a 5 foot leap when they are pitching.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Major league is about 60ft and little league might be 45ft

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many steps is it from the pitchers mound to home plate in baseball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How far is the pitchers mound from the batter in girls softball-in-primary?

25 foot steps.

How do you steal bases in baseball?

the thing is to take a couple steps off the base you are currently on the as soon as the ball leaves the pitchers hands run as fast as you can to the next plate.

How many steps is the mound to home plate?

That depends on the age group college and high school use a 43' distance in fast pitch.

What does step up to the plate mean?

It is a baseball term. The new batsman steps up to the plate over which the pitcher pitches the ball to him.

How far is is it from home plate to the picher's mound?

40 feet lol i know that in like 2 years lol [8u-]

When sportscasters say Here's the kick and the pitch what do they mean exactly?

When a baseball commentator refers to a pitchers making "the kick and the pitch" he/she is talking about the delivery of the ball. Usually a pitcher pulls his leg up high and close to the body and then steps, or kicks out toward home plate as he releases to ball to gain force behind the pitch.

Bases loaded runner from third misses home is he out on appeal?

Anytime a runner misses a base and an appeal is made he would be called out if the umpire saw it. Suppose only 1 runner crossed the plate, if the ball was thrown home and the catcher stepped on the plate the umpire would call him out (even if the runner is halfway back to the dugout), if multiple runners cross the plate, then and a ball is thrown home in play, the umpire will only make the "safe/out" call of the last runner to cross, or the play at the plate. In this case you would need to go through an official appeal process (ball to the pitcher on the mound, steps off the mound, throws home, catcher steps on the plate) --- The umpire will know what you are doing and if he saw it the same way, will call the runner that "missed home" out ---- If this would have been the 3rd out, his run and any runners that crossed home after him will not count

Does pitchers back foot have to break contact with rubber for him to throw to first?

No. Remember there are left handed pitchers and right handed pitchers. Almost every umpire will declare a right handed pitcher to have balked if his foot doesn't disengage from the rubber when he throws to first. A left handed pitcher simply steps and throws to first. His back foot usually never disengages from the rubber. To over simplify - a pitcher is called for a balk when the umpire judges the pitcher to have deceived the runner in some way. So, anytime a baulk is called, an umpire made a judgement call.

What are The 3 basic steps used in printmaking is?

The three basic steps of printmaking are as follow: 1. Creating the plate [[normally on linoleum tiles]] 2. Inking the plate with the desired color 3. Transfering the image to the paper.

What happens if the pitcher steps out of the pitchers circle in fast pitch softball?

It will nullify the look back rule but other than that nothing happens.

How many steps forward can the pitcher take in softball?

In softball pitching the pitcher is only allowed one big step because the rule states that prior to the pitch both feet should be on the pitcher's plate and during the pitch one foot should be on the plate before ball is released. you can check the basics of pitching here:

Does the same pitcher have to be removed on the second timeout if the coach proceeds to the umpire to make defensive change including the pitcher?

I am not sure if the following will help. When the second trip to the mound happens in the same inning the pitcher has to be replaced. on a timeout no... u dont have to change the pitcher... if it is the 2nd "Mound Visit" with the coach on the mound yes. when only a catcher is talking to the catcehr or anyone already on the field it doesnt count. it is not considered a mound visit until the coach steps over the foul line. if there are 2 mound visits in in 2 different innings for the same pitcher u can remain on the mound