Yes. As long as there are at least 7 players on the line of scrimmage, any formation is legal.
it is not legal to drop kick beyond the line of scrimmage. all you can do beyond the line of scrimmage is pitch the ball backwards.
In HS: On offense, there must be seven or more players lined up on the line of scrimmage when the ball is snapped. If there are less than seven offensive players on the line of scrimmage at the time the ball is snapped the penalty is called an illegal formation. (if there are more than 7, some players that would normally be eligible to be downfield for a pass are ineligible, but it is still a legal formation). In NCAA/NFL: There must be 4 players in the backfield (off the line of scrimmage) at the snap. While the two rules sound the same, the difference occurs when the offense doesn't have all 11 players on the field. In high school, it means less players in the backfield. In the upper levels, it means less players on the line of scrimmage (and it makes the job of the short-wing officials a lot easier when checking the formation). There are also some other rare/unusual rules when governing legality of formations, such as HS requires a man on the line of scrimmage on both sides of the center (usually the guard), in college and pros you need two players on both sides of the center on the line of scrimmage (usually the guard and tackle). Also, the 5 players on the line that are ineligible (the offensive lineman) must wear numbers of ineligible receivers (between 50-69). There is an exception to the player numbers on 4th down FG attempts and PATs.
By definition, a lateral is a pass that is thrown sideways to or behind the passer and is legal anywhere on the field, behind the line of scrimmage or beyond the line of scrimmage.
Yes, because you still cross the line of scrimmage when the ball is snapped so there is nothing wrong with it!!
In most leagues, yes, this is legal provided that both are near the line of scrimmage and that the receiver is not illegally using his hands to restrain or grapple the defender.
If a quarterback and the entire ball are in front of the line of scrimmage then a forward pass can no longer be thrown but a lateral is still a legal play. However, by the act of crossing the line of scrimmage, the quarterback does not lose the right to throw a forward pass as long as after crossing the line scrimmage, the ball returns behind and is thrown from behind the line scrimmage.
Not in American football. Kicks must be taken from behind the line of scrimmage. In Canadian football, however, this would be legal.
No! A pass is only legal if it is thrown from behind the line of scrimmage. A pass is illegal if it is thrown from in front of the line of scrimmage.
No, of course not. Hired killers murder people and murder is a criminal offense.
Yes, as long as he is behind the line of scrimmage when he passes it, it doesn't matter if he has crossed it before. No, once a quaterback crosses the line of scrimmage he is considered a runner and can only pitch the ball backwards
No... ANSWER: If the QB goes back behind the line of scrimmage, then yes, he can still throw the ball. Crossing the line of scrimmage doesn't negate the QB's right to throw a legal forward pass on that play.
Yes, in the Scrimmage kick section, any kick blocked and/or recovered by the kicking team may be advanced. In the definition section (3-27-2 SN2) it states that "The statement, a player may advance, means that he may be a legal rusher [...] an offensive player may forward pass [assuming it is the first pass and the ball hasn't crossed the line of scrimmage]" So in short, yes, you can have a blocked field goal, where the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage and the ball is recovered by the offense and passed for a touchdown. Of course, this also assumes the ball didn't touch an ineligible receiver on the block (like an o-lineman), and only eligible receivers are downfield (usually just the players at the end of the formation). This is the same as a punt, too, btw. FG's and Punts are lumped together as 'scrimmage kicks' in the rule book.
Wrong choice of terminology - a Forward Pass must be made behind or in the neutral zone (the width of the ball where it is spotted for the Down) by the passer to be legal, and be caught by an eligible receiver to be complete. It can, however, be caught by an eligible receiver anywhere on the field of play, even behind the line of scrimmage.
How can a deficiency in legal capacity related to contract formation be corrected?
No, it is a legal right
A legal pass is anypass that is thrown from behind the line of scrimmage...the imaginary line across the field where the play began...A player may pitch the ball backward at anytime while beyond the line of scrimmage. Any ball thrown forward beyond the LOS is an illegal pass.
Yes it is legal but to be able to complete the leap and the block you are increasing the risk for injury exponentially. Some might try it- Once!
no.its a federal offense.
when the team does a non legal move
Killing is an illegal offence.
The ball must be released prior to the foot of the passer breaking the line of scrimmage.As long as some portion of the passer's body is behind the line of scrimmage when the ball is thrown, it is a legal forward pass.