answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A single out is enough to get a save. To get a save a pitcher has to record the game ending out, and has to have entered with a lead of 3 runs or fewer, or with the tying run at the plate or on deck. If a pitcher throws the game's final 3 innings he can get the save regardless of how big a lead his team had when he entered.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-08-10 13:08:36
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many innings does a pitcher have to pitch to get a save in the MLB?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the pitcher before the save get the win?

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.


How many innings do you have to pitch to earn a save in a high school game?

There is no inning requirement to earn a save. To earn a save, a pitcher must enter the game with the tieing run(s) either on base, at the plate, or on deck, and finish the game by not allowing the tying run or runs to score.


Can a MLB pitcher get a save in extra innings?

A home pitcher can't get a save opportunity since any lead would result in a walkoff victory. However a road pitcher can get a save opportunity by relieving another pitcher in the bottom of the inning when they have the lead.


How many innings does a pitcher have to throw in order to get a save at home or away?

To earn a save, a pitcher may pitch no pitches, or 4+innings, see rule 10.20 from the mlb.comm rulebook. "Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game. "


Can a save be earned by the visiting team pitcher in extra innings in MLB?

Yes, the pitcher who pitched the bottom of the previous inning would get the win and if a new pitcher is used in the bottom of the next inning and holds the lead, he would get the save.


How do you decide if pitchers get the win or loss or no decision?

If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.


Does the new pitcher in the top of the seventh inning of a 1-0 ballgame get the win or a save?

If the relief pitcher pitches 3 innings, and completes the game, and never gave up the lead, he would get a save.


How does a pitcher get a save?

Any relief pitcher can come in and pitch at least three innings EFFECTIVELY and get a save. Here is rule 10.20 from the MLB.com site on June 2nd. Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.


Which New York Yankees pitcher played on August 2nd 1980?

On August 2, 1980, Yankees pitcher Rudy May defeated the Milwaukee Brewers. He pitched six innings and Rich "Goose" Gossage pitched the last three innings for the save.


What are the requirements for a closing pitcher?

The requirements for a reliever to record a save are he must be the last pitcher in the game and he must be put in the game with his team winning by 3 runs or the tying or go-ahead run has to be either on base, at-bat or on deck or a reliever can come in and pitch the last 3 innings regardless of the score as long as his team is winning.


What are the save situations?

In order to record a save under baseball rules, the following must happen: The pitcher must be the last to appear in a game won by his team. The pitcher is not the winning pitcher. The pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and records at least one out. He comes in with the potential tying run on base, at bat or on deck. A pitcher can also record a save by recording at least three effective innings to close out a game, at the discretion of the official scorer. Consequently, a blown save is when a pitcher enters a game in any of these situations and allows either the tying or go-ahead run to score.


How many runs up can you be to get the save in baseball?

The save can be achieved when the tying run is on deck-so you could be winning by one run or by five runs depending on the situation. There is also a rule that says a relief pitcher will get a save if he pitches three innings, ends the game, and is not the winning pitcher, regardless of score. Because of this rule, in the most lopsided victory in major league history*, reliever Wes Littleton was credited with saving a 27-run lead because he pitched three innings. * Box here: http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/BAL/BAL200708221.shtml


How does a pitcher acquire a save?

There are four conditions that a pitcher must meet to record a save: 1. He must be the last pitcher for the winning team. 2. He must not be credited with a win. 3. He must pitch at least 1/3 innings. 4. He must achieve one of these three conditions: 1. He entered the game with a three run lead and pitched at least 1 inning. 2. He entered the game, regardless of the count on the batter, with the tying run either on deck, batting, or on base. 3. He pitches three innings So, for example, a pitcher could enter the game with a five run lead and the bases loaded and two outs and have a chance to record a save, as long as he finishes the game. Another example, as seen in the 2007 game between the Texas Rangers and the Baltimore Orioles, Wes Littleton of the Rangers was awarded a save for pitching the last three innings of a 30-3 Ranger victory, though when he entered the score was only 14-3. An unofficial stat is the hold, which is generally awarded to a pitcher who satisfies the last three conditions (ie did not finish the game). A blown save is given to a pitcher who comes into a game with the chance to record a save but instead gives up the tying run.


What determines the winning pitcher in a MLB game?

In almost all cases, the starting pitcher has to last at least five innings and his team must a) be in the lead before a reliever throws a pitch, and b) maintain the lead for the rest of the game. For a reliever to get a win, it's the same minus the five-inning provision. Losses are different, since that is based on the runs for which the pitcher is "responsible" -- ones that reached base against him while he was in the game. As for the save, the pitcher must finish a game that the team wins and meet conditions, most pertaining to how close the margin is when he enters the game, outlined in the rule.


If a pitcher enters the game in the 8th inning with the score 5-0 pitches the 9th inning and the game ends with a score of 8-0 does the pitcher gets a save?

No he does not. You must enter the game with the score being within 3 runs of the other team. But if the pitcher pitches three innings without giving up the lead, (after the starter) then he is awarded the save as well. example: 1-0, 5-2, 9-8


How does a relief pitcher get a save in a game?

In order to record a save under baseball rules, the following must happen: The pitcher must be the last to appear in a game won by his team. The pitcher is not the winning pitcher. The pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and records at least one out. He comes in with the potential tying run on base, at bat or on deck. A pitcher can also record a save by recording at least three effective innings to close out a game, at the discretion of the official scorer. Consequently, a blown save is when a pitcher enters a game in any of these situations and allows either the tying or go-ahead run to score. Almost had it - the tying run is on base, on deck, or in the hole. If a team is up by 3 runs and the reliever starts the inning, he can still get the save. Also the reliever cannot create his own save situation.


How many batters must a pitcher face to record a save?

There is no set amount of batters a pitcher must face to be awarded a save. MLB Rule 10.19 specifies the rules for awarding a pitcher a save: 1) The pitcher must be the final pitcher used by the winning team. 2) The pitcher cannot be the winning pitcher. 3) The pitcher must record at least one out. 4) One of the following three conditions must apply: 4A) The pitcher enters the game with his team ahead by three runs or less and pitches at least one inning. 4B) The pitcher enters the game with his team ahead and the potential tying run is either on base or one of the two batters he faces. 4C) The pitcher pitches at least three innings. Examples: 1) A pitcher enters the game with two out in the ninth inning, his team is ahead 8-3, and the bases are loaded. If the pitcher records the final out, he is credited with a save. Looking at the rules above, he would be the final pitcher used by the winning team, he would not be the winning pitcher, he would have recorded at least one out, and he would have entered the game with the potential tying run being one of the first two batters he faced. 2) A pitcher enters the game with two out in the ninth inning, his team is ahead 9-3, and the bases are loaded. If the pitcher records the final out, he is NOT credited with a save. Looking at the rules above, he would be the final pitcher used by the winning team, he would not be the winning pitcher, he would have recorded at least one out, BUT he would have entered the game with the potential tying run not being one of the first two batters he faced. 3) A pitcher enters the game to start the sixth inning with his team ahead 17-0. He pitches all four innings (sixth through ninth) and his team wins 18-1. The pitcher is credited with a save. He was the final pitcher used by the winning team, he wasn't the winning pitcher, he recorded at least one out, and he pitched at least three innings.


Can a relief pitcher come into a game in a non-save situation then give up runs to get into a save opportunity?

Not at all. 1. save rule (n) the baseball rule that credits a relief pitcher with a save if he comes into a game with his team ahead and completes the game with his team winning, and meets one of the following conditions: a) enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning, or b) enters the game with the potential tying runner on base, at bat, or on deck, or c) pitches for at least three innings Absolutely not. A pitcher cannot create his own save situation; if it's not a save situation when he enters, he's not getting a save, no matter what he does. If he's pulled for another reliever, that second reliever could get a save.


What is a Save opportunity?

Taken from: http://espn.go.com/mlb/statistics/glossary.html Save opportunities. When a pitcher 1) enters the game with a lead of three or fewer runs and pitches at least one inning, 2) enters the game with the potential tying run on base, at bat, or on deck, or 3) pitches three or more innings with a lead and is credited with a save by the official scorer.


Who was the winning pitcher for the mets in the 1969 World Series?

Lefthander Jerry Koosman, who also was the winning pitcher in Game 2. Koosman pitched 8 innings in game 2, got the win with Ron Taylor picking up the save. Koosman pitched a complete game in Game 5 to win the title for the Mets.


How does a pitcher get a save in baseball?

A pitcher can get a save in baseball when his team is winning by three or less. It can be a 5 out svae or 3 out save. Sometimes there are other ways.


How does a pitcher earn a win in baseball?

TO UPDATE THE PERSON'S POST ABOVE: MLB Rules state that a condition for a "save" is that the pitcher is not eligible for a "win". As such, a relief pitcher entering the game prior to the 5th as a reliever would get credit for the win, with no save allocated. If a pitcher pitches 6 innings and leaves the mound with the lead to field another position, then returns in the 9th to close, he remains credited with the win (if his score holds) with no save allocated. As for a team taking the lead with a pinch-hitter for a pitcher, the actual change of pitcher of record does not take effect until the next pitcher "takes the mound". Though the pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter, the performance of the team will affect his ability to win the game. In other words, if the pitcher leaves the game while his team is on offense with the lead, he can only earn a win or a no decision. If he leaves the game while his team is on offense with a tie or behind, he can win, lose, or have a no-decision, depending on what the score is when the next pitcher takes the mound.


What is a 'save' in baseball?

A save is when a relief pitcher comes in with his team leading and finishes the game without giving up the lead. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Not all such appearances are saves. To be credited with a save, the pitcher's team must win, he must be the pitcher at the end of the game, and he must not be credited with the win. (Essentially the above answer.) But then he must qualify in one of three additional ways: (1) he pitched effectively for at least three innings; (2) he came into the game with his team leading by no more than 3 runs, and pitched at least one full inning; or (3) he entered the game with the tying run on base, at bat, or on deck.


If im winning 4-0 in the 9th inning can you get a save?

According to the MLB Official Rule Book, a pitcher is credited with a save when 1) the pitcher is the last pitcher the team uses and 2) the pitcher is not credited with the win and 3) one of the following three conditions apply ....A) the pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning or ....B) the pitcher enters the game with the potentional tying run on base, at bat, or on deck or ....C) the pitcher pitches at least three effective innings regardless of what the score was when they entered the game In MLB, since a save is awarded if the finishing pitcher enters the game with the tying run being at bat or on deck, it would be possible to be credited with a save when entering a game in the ninth inning with the score 4-0. If the pitcher enters the game at the beginning of the ninth inning of a 4-0 game a save cannot be credited. Rules 1 and 2 above would be satisfied but Rule 3 would not. But if the pitcher enters the game with the bases loaded and the score 4-0, a save can be awarded since the first batter the pitcher faces is the potential tying run.


Pitcher leaves game with one run lead but two runners on base relief pitcher comes in finishes game for win does relief pitcher get a win or save?

He gets a save