Best Answer
2009 Major League BaseballThere were 30 teams in Major League Baseball in 2009; 16 teams in the National League, and 14 Teams in the American League. Each league is divided into three divisions, East, Central, and West. Below is the list of teams in each League. National League

East Division

West Division

  • Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Colorado Rockies
  • Los Angeles Dodgers
  • San Diego Padres
  • San Francisco Giants
American LeagueEast Division
  • Baltimore Orioles
  • Boston Red Sox
  • Toronto Blue Jays
  • Tampa Bay Rays
  • New York Yankees

    Central Division

  • Cleveland Indians
  • Chicago White Sox
  • Detroit Tigers
  • Kansas City Royals
  • Minnesota Twins

    West Division

  • Oakland Athletics
  • Los Angeles Angels
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Texas Rangers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-14 16:19:45
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-07 09:25:53


This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many baseball teams in the major leagues?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many baseball teams were there in the 1940s?

In the Major Leagues there were 16 teams, eight in each league.

How many teams are in the major leagues?

30 teams

How many baseball teams were there in the 1930s?

In the Major Leagues there were 16 teams in the 1930, eight in the American League and eight in the National League.

How many baseball teams in US are there?

In the major leagues, there are 29 baseball teams in the US; but there is one major league team, the Toronto Blue Jays, in Canada.

How many teams are in Triple A baseball?

Triple A's are the highest level of minor leagues, just below the major leagues. In the International League you have 14 teams; in the Pacific Coast league you have 16 teams and in the Mexican one you have 16 teams

How many teams are there in all the major sport leagues?

32 football teams NFL

How many Major League Baseball games played in 1960?

In 1960, both the American and National leagues still had eight teams, and both leagues played 154 game schedules

How many national leagues and American baseball teams are there today?

In all, there are 30 Major League teams. The New York Yankees are the best by far with 26 World Series wins.

How many baseball players are there in the Major Leagues?

Through August 31 of every year, there are 750 Major League baseball players: 25 players on each of the 30 Major League teams. Beginning September 1 teams are allowed to expand their active rosters up to 40.

How many baseball leagues were in the negro leagues?

The Negro leagues were US professional baseball leagues. The term is usually used to include 7 leagues, also called "Negro Major Leagues" which began in 1920.

How many Latino baseball players have played in the major leagues?

To many to count

How many professional baseball teams have changed leagues?

Two teams have switched leagues. The Milwaukee Brewers changed from the AL to the NL in 1998 and the Houston Astros moved to the AL in 2013.

People also asked