Best Answer

There were 24 MLB teams in 1969: 12 in each league (American & National), with each league divided into 2 divisions (Eastern & Western) of 6 teams each.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-12-01 14:53:12
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many Major League Baseball teams were there in 1969?
Write your answer...
Related questions

When was Major League Baseball logo created?

Major League Baseball logo was created in 1969.

What Major League Baseball teams start with the letter E?

Currently, there are no MLB teams that begin with the letter E. The Washington Nationals used to play as the Montreal Expos from 1969 through 2004.

What was the average salary of a Major League Baseball player in 1969?

According to numbers published by the Major League Baseball Players Association, the average player salary in 1969 was $24,909. The league minimum that season was $10,000.

When did the Kansas City Royals become a major league baseball team?


What is San Diegos baseball team?

The Padres, who joined Major League Baseball as an expansion team in 1969.

What was the first major league baseball team outside the US?

Montreal Expos in 1969.

When did the Pirates join the Major League Baseball?

The Pittsburgh Pirates joined Major League Baseball, or MLB, as part of the National League in 1887. From 1969 to 1993, the Pirates were part of the East Division, and from 1994 onward the team was part of the Central Division.

When did divisional play in baseball begin?

In MLB, that was 1969. There were two divisions in each league, the East and the West, and each division had 6 teams.

What was the height of the pitchers mound in major league baseball pre 1969?

15 inches. It was lowered to 10 inches in 1969 to help increase offense.

When was the National League split into two division?

Both the National League and American League split into two divisions in 1969. Prior to 1969, there were 10 teams in each league. In 1969, each league expanded to 12 teams (San Diego and Montreal (now Washington) were added to the NL, Toronto and Seattle (now Milwaukee) were added to the AL) and each league was split into 2 six team divisions.

What is the home city of the major league baseball's padres?

Founded in 1969, the Padres are and have always been based in San Diego, CA.

What was Canada's first major league Baseball team?

Canada's first MLB team was the Montreal Expos who began play in 1969.

When was Quebec Major Junior Hockey League created?

Quebec Major Junior Hockey League was created in 1969.

What year was the Padres first season?

Their first year as a baseball team was in 1936 as a PCL minor league team. Their first year as a major league team was 1969

When did major league baseball change the format to reach the world series?

Prior to 1969, there were no divisions in either league and the team that had the best win/loss record in each league won the pennant and advanced to the World Series. Starting in 1969, the teams in each league were broken into two divisions. The teams that had the best won/loss record in each division advanced to the League Championship Series. The winners of each league's LCS advanced to the World Series. Between 1969-1985, the LCS was a best of 5 series ... starting in 1986 the LCS became a best of 7 series. Starting in 1995, each league went from two divisions to three divisions which meant three teams, the three division winners, would advance to the playoffs. A fourth team in each league was needed to even things out so one wildcard team, the team that had the best won/loss record of all teams in the league that did not win their division, was added. This added another layer of playoffs and it was called the League Divisional Series which was, and still is, a best of 5 series. The teams that win their respective LDS meet in the LCS ... the team that wins the LCS advances to the World Series.

Has the Major League Baseball playoffs always have 3 rounds starting with 8 teams?

No. Prior to 1969, there were no division in either league. Whichever team in each league had the best regular season record was the league's representative in the World Series. So, prior to 1969, only one team from each league made the playoffs and the only playoff round was the World Series. Starting in 1969, each league divided its teams into two divisions, the East and the West. The winners of the divisions would play each other in a playoff series (American/National League Championship Series) and the winner of that series would be the league's representative in the World Series. Two teams made the playoffs from each league and there were two rounds in the playoffs. Starting in 1994, each league was divided into three divisions, the East, Central, and West. The winners of each division would make the playoffs along with the one non division winner that had the best overall regular season record from each league. Four teams make the playoffs from each league. This is currently how the playoffs are done in MLB. There are three rounds in the playoffs, the American/National League Divisional Series, American/National League Championship Series, and the World Series.

Who has the first Major League Baseball playoff save?

Because saves were introduced as an official stat in 1969, then that honor goes to Tug McGraw of the New York Mets, in Game 2 of then 1969 NLCS on October 5, 1969 at Atlanta Stadium.

When did the San Diego Padres join major league?


When did Major League Baseball lower the pitching moound?

MLB lowered the mound height from 15 inches to 10 inches for the 1969 season.

What year did Thurman Munson start playing baseball?

Thurman Munson made his Major League debut on August 8, 1969 for the New York Yankees.

When did division titles in baseball come into effect?

In MLB, that was 1969. Starting in 1969, the teams in both the American and National Leagues were broken up into two divisions. This coincided with expansion as two new teams entered each league making the number of teams in each league 12 instead of 10. The Kansas City Royals and Seattle Pilots (now the Milwaukee Brewers) entered the AL and the San Diego Padres and Montreal Expos (now the Washington Nationals) entered the NL.

What year did divisional play begin in baseball?

Expansion to 10 teams came to the American League in 1961, with the addition of the Los Angeles Angels the Minnesota Twins. The National League expanded to 10 teams in 1962 with the addition of the New York Mets and the Houston Colt 45's. The next round of expansion, and the introduction of divisonal play, came in 1969, as each league expanded to 2 divsions of 6 teams each. New teams were the Kansas City Royals and Seattle Pilots (soon to move and become the Milwaukee Brewers) in the American League, and the Montreal Expos and San Diego Padres in the National League.

When did Don Drysdale play his final Major League Baseball game?

Don Drysdale's final Major League Baseball appearance came on August 5, 1969 for the Los Angeles Dodgers against the Pittsburgh Pirates. The Dodgers lost the game 11 - 3, with Drysdale conceding three runs in six innings pitched.

How many NHL teams were there in 1969?

In 1969 the NHL had 12 teams.

Tim McCarver played for what Major League Baseball team?

He played for 6 MLB teams. He was with the St. Louis Cardinals from 1959-1969, the Philadelphia Phillies from 1970-1972, the Montreal Expos in 1972, the St. Louis Cardinals again from 1973-1974, the Boston Red Sox from 1974-1975, and again with the Philadelphia Phillies from 1975-1980.