answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

There is a rule in Baseball known as the uncaught third strike rule. This rule states that a catcher must catch the ball from the pitcher on a third strike for an out to be recorded. If, on a third strike, the pitched ball touches the ground before reaching the catcher or the catcher does not cleanly catch the ball, the batter becomes a runner and may advance to first base and must be tagged or thrown out at first base for the out to be recorded.

For example, a batter swings and misses for strike three but the ball gets past the catcher and rolls back to the backstop. For the out to be recorded, the catcher must retrieve the ball and throw to first base before the batter gets there. If the batter beats the throw to first base, he becomes a base runner and is not out. In this situation, the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The official scorer will rule as to whether the pitcher will also be charged with a wild pitch or the catcher will be charged with a passed ball (the reason the batter reached base).

So the pitcher strikes out the first batter but the ball gets by the catcher and the batter reaches first base. The pitcher then cleanly strikes out the next three batters. For the inning, the pitcher is credited with 4 strikeouts.

The uncaught third strike rule does not apply when there is a runner on first base and there are less than two outs. This keeps the catcher from intentionally dropping a third strike which would allow for an easy double play ... catcher throws to second base for one out and the second baseman/shortstop throws to first for the second out.

There is no uncaught third strike rule in Little League Baseball. The batter is automatically out on a third strike regardless of whether the catcher catches the ball or not.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-02-14 19:53:31
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How is it possible for a pitcher to make four or more strikeouts in one inning?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a batter on a third strike dropped runs to first and is safe because of an E2 - is it still a K for the pitcher?

Yes, and as a matter of fact, in MLB history there have been about 40-50 pitches credited with 4 strikeouts in one inning because of this. Click on the 'Four Strikeouts in One Inning' link below to see all MLB pitchers that have been credited with four strikeouts in one inning.


Does a pitcher get credited for a strike out if a runner reaches first base on a past ball?

Yes it will be a strikeout Every few years a pitcher is credited with FOUR strikeouts in an inning.


Who has most strike outs in one inning in a baseball game?

While logic would lead us to believe that the most strikeouts a pitcher can get in one inning is 3, it's not true. 52 pitchers have recorded 4 strike outs in one inning. How does this happen? If a batter with 2 strikes swings and misses on strike three, but the catcher doesn't field it cleanly, he can run to 1B. It's not one of the three outs for the inning, but, it is a strikeout for the pitcher. No one has recorded more than 4 strikeouts in one inning, although it is possible. The most recent pitcher to accomplish this feat is Felix Hernandez of the Seattle Mariners. He struck out four batters on June 3rd, 2010. For a complete list of all major league pitchers who have struck out 4 batters, see Related Links, below.


How is it possible for a pitcher to make four or more strikouts in one inning?

A pitcher can get credited with 4 strike outs in one inning by the drop 3rd strike rule as long as the runner makes it to 1st base


Is the pitcher credited with a strike out if the catcher drops ball on third strike?

yes, so as a result it is possible to strike out four batters in an inning


Who has pitched five strike outs in one inning?

The most strikeouts in baseball history in one inning is four. This has happened just 72 times in baseball history.


Is it possible to strike out four players in one inning?

It


What is a four strike out half inning?

If a guy gets on base after a dropped third strike, a pitcher can get more than 3 strike outs in an inning.


How many inning does a starting pitcher in High school softball need to pitch to earn a win?

Four


Is it possible to have a four-strikeout half inning in baseball?

Yes On the third strike of the third strike out if the ball gets by the catcher the batter can reach first base safely but the at bat is counted as a strike out. The next batter comes up ,strikes out and the cather holds on to the ball this time. Theoretically, if your catcher cannot handle the third strikes, you can have unlimited number of strikeouts in an inning. If every batter reached safely after a dropped third strike (which IS recorded as a strike out for the pitcher), you could lose, say, 20-0 without ever giving up a hit and by striking out every batter.


Is a A four-strikeout half inning possible?

In short yes. see below for explaination. Four strikeouts in an inning If a third strike is not caught by the catcher (and is not tipped), it is a strikeout, and the at-bat is over. However, with first base open or with two outs, the batter is not out until tagged out or forced out. On a wild pitch or passed ball the batter can often advance to first base safely. If a runner is at first base and there are less than two outs, the batter is automatically out, as with the infield fly rule. If there are two outs, another runner may be forced out as with any other ball in play. If the runner reaches first base safely, there is no out, but the pitcher is still credited with a strikeout. It is thus possible for a pitcher to throw four (or more) strikeouts in an inning. The first major leaguer to be credited with the feat was Jon Andre of the New York Giants on October 4, 1888. The feat was once rare, occurring only five times before 1956, but is now so common that it happened six times in 1999. Chuck Finley did it on May 12 and August 15, 1999 with the Anaheim Angels, and then for a third time on April 16, 2000 with the Cleveland Indians. Finley is the only player to pitch four strikeouts in an inning more than once. Kerry Wood of the Chicago Cubs struck out 4 in an inning in 2002, but in his case, 2 batters reached base due to passed balls by his catcher Todd Hundley. This recent increase in the occurrence of the four-strikeout inning may well be credited to the increase in usage of the split-finger fastball and forkball, both pitches that end up in the dirt at the plate when effective and often are difficult to handle for catchers. With any runners advancing to leave first base open if there are less than two outs, the process can repeat, leading to a fifth strikeout (or more) in the inning. A fifth strikeout has not happened in a regulation game in the major leagues, but has occurred three times in the minor leagues, most recently by Mike Schultz of the Lancaster JetHawks against the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes on July 16, 2004. In the major leagues, knuckleballer Joe Niekro also struck out five men in an inning during a spring exhibition game when Niekro was with the Houston Astros.


What can you conclude if your pitcher is taken out in the eighth inning because you are losing six to four and you score three runs and take the lead in the ninth after a new pitcher is put in?

That's great. What happened in the bottom of the ninth?


Who was the Last pitcher to strike out 4 batters in one ending?

There have been 51 instances in which a pitcher has struck out four batters in one half inning. The most recent was Scott Shields of the Los Angeles Angels on June 21, 2008.


Why are 4 strikeouts called a silver sombrero?

Three Strikeouts in one game is called the Silver Sombrero. Four strikeouts in one game is called the Golden Sombrero. Golden Sombrero has always been 4 in a game, but Silver sombrero I think is just a take off of this. In the past, this was referred to as a Hat Trick.


Has any baseball pitcher struck out 27 consecutive batters?

yes there has in usa baseball a pitchter in a high school game in Ohio he's name is r.l eisenboch i don't know if its spelled right thought Not in MLB or the minor leagues. But there has been one pitcher that struckout 27 batters in a game. That was Ron Necciai who was pitching for the Bristol Twins of the Appalachian League in 1952. He was credited with 27 strikeouts in a 7-0 no-hitter he pitched against the Welch Miners. He did give up a walk and hit a batter in the game. Another batter reached base on a passed ball on a third strike. Necciai wound up striking out the next batter to record four strikeouts in an inning. The only two batters that hit the ball grounded out to the first baseman and reached base on an error.


What pitcher made the fewest pitches in one inning?

There are many pitchers who have made the fewest pitches in one inning. Three. Each batter swung at the first pitch and it resulted in an out. It still happens today, although it's usually four to six.


What is actually possible A four-strikeout half inning or a double by a designated hitter in the national league championship series?

A four strikeout inning. The National League does not use a designated hitter except in World Series games that are played in the American League team's ballpark.


Can you get four outs in an inning?

No, that is not possible. That thought comes from the fact that, in certain situations, a batter can strikeout but get on base if the catcher does not catch the ball on strike three and cannot get the ball to the first baseman before the batter reaches first base. This is called the 'Dropped Third Strike Rule' and there is a link to its description on this page. There have been many occasions, I don't know the exact number, where a pitcher has struckout four batters in an inning. This can only occur when the catcher does not catch strike three on a strikeout and the batter reaches first base safely.


What is a save in baseball?

A save is where the team who is leading brings out a pitcher to close a game. Usually the team calls out the closer who specializes in saves, but sometimes the team puts out a different reliever to rest the closer. Saves consist of mainly 1-3 run leads sometimes even 4. The new pitcher usually comes in the ninth inning to close out the game and give the team a win, but the closer may have to come in the eighth inning with two outs, this is called a four out save. If the pitcher blows the lead it is called a blown save. The pitcher can still get the win though. They record the closers record of saves, for example the pitcher could have a 43/46 record. This means the pitcher saved 43 games out of 46.


Who is the Sports Illustrated 2014 Sportsman of the Year?

The 2014 Sportsman of the Year was Madison Bumgarner, pitcher for the San Francisco Giants. In the 2014 MLB postseason he pitched 52 and 2/3 innings, with an ERA of 1.03. In Game 5 of the World Series, he pitched a 117-pitch, four hit shutout and then on two-days rest, pitched in relief in Game 7 for 5 innings with only two hits, four strikeouts, and no walks.


What is a four letter word for pitcher?

ewer


Are there any pitcher's that lost a no hitter?

yes, many have. I'm a mets fan and i kno that Pedro lost a few late in the game and that tom seaver took 2 no-hitters into the ninth inning before losing them. The question appears to be asking whether a pitcher has pitched a no-hitter, but lost the game. One pitcher, Ken Johnson of the Houston Colt .45s, has managed this dubious accomplishment. On four occasions, a pitcher for the visiting team has pitched an eight-inning complete game without allowing a hit and lost, but under MLB's current definition these don't count as no-hitters.


How many innings must a starting pitcher pitch to win a 7 inning game?

It's five innings. The rule doesn't make much sense unless you understand the lingo, but here it is anyways. (a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless (1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or (2) Rule 10.17(c) applies. Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher. (b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed (1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or (2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.


What pitchers threw 300 strikeouts 3 years in a row?

Nolan Ryan of the California Angels was the first to do it when he led the major leagues in strikeouts in 1972 (329), 1973 (383) and 1974 (367). Randy Johnson of the Arizona Diamondbacks accomplished the feat four years in a row: 1999 (364), 2000 (347), 2001 (372) and 2002 (334).


Why is the pitcher required to throw four balls for an intentional walk?

The reason for this is that the pitcher must throw 4 balls in order for it to be a walk.