answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The front of the pitcher's mound to the front of home plate in the Majors should be 60 feet 6 inches.

Batters: Most batters at this level will stand with their back-foot on the back line of the batter's box as much as possible. Some stances (front foot) don't go beyond the front of the plate however most do.

Pitchers: All pitchers start at the mound with their right foot (right handed pitchers) on the front edge of the mound or vice-versa. Pitchers at the end of their stance will (should) go about as far as their are tall. A 6 foot 2 inch pitcher should step out about that far from the mound.

So the distance is only as far as they will be in their stance or end result.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-01 23:08:59
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How far is the pitcher from the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How far is the pitcher in softball from the batter?

It depends on what age division the team is in. Ohio high school pitchers are 43 feet from the batter


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Was Babe Ruth a pitcher or a batter?

Babe Ruth Was A Pitcher When He Was On The Redsox And A Batter When He Was With The Yankees.


Softball what is the distance between pitcher and batter?

The distance between the pitcher and the batter should be around 30 feet.


In major league baseball if a batter has a 1-1 count and the pitcher is removed which pitcher is responsible for the batter if he gets on base?

The pitcher who pitched the 1-1 count is responsible for the batter if he gets on base.


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.


A sebtence for the word pitcher?

my dad was the pitcher and I was the batter.


What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?

the batter is out


With change of pitcher can batter be changed?

Yes. The batter can be changed. The balls and strikes are on the pitcher. If there is a new pitcher, the count goes to zero balls and zero strikes.


Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...


How far is the pitcher from the batter box in softball?

40ft in high school, as of now.... 43 in college right now and soon to be high school


Who is charged with the batter when a new pitcher enters the game to face that batter with a count of 2-0 already on the batter from the first pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with a 2 ball 0 strikes on the batter and the batter receives a base on balls it is charged to the preceding pitcher. Any other action such as a base hit, fielder's choice, reaching base on an error, etc., is charged to the relief pitcher. (Rule 10.18 (g)).


What does the pitcher do in baseball?

The pitcher is the one who throws the baseball to the batter.


What is a pitcher?

A pitcher is the person who pitches, or throws, the ball to the batter.


A baseball pitcher throws a fastball at 42 meters per second If the batter is 18 meters from the pitcher approximately how much time does it take for the ball to reach the batter?

It would take the ball .26 sec. to get from the pitcher to the batter.


Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.


In base ballcan you bring in a relief pitcher in the middle of a count?

Yes, you can. The only exception is for the first batter of the game and for the first batter to be faced by a reliever. According to Rule 3.05(a), the starting pitcher shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. And according to Rule 3.05(b), if the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief's judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.


If a pitching change is made during an at-bat and the batter gets on base and later scores which pitcher is charged with the earned run?

If the batter got on base with the original pitcher and he scores of the new pitcher, the previous pitcher is charged with the earned run.


In little league you have a batter in full count and change pitcher the new pitcher threw one strike and the batter is out who is responsible for that defensive out?

In any league, the last pitcher to pitch the ball is responsible for that batter. If he strikes him out, the credit goes to him, regardless of how many pitches he throws.


How much time does the pitcher have to throw the ball after the batter gets in the batter's box?

A Pitcher's time limit in pitching to a batter doesn't depend solely on the batter but also on when he (the Pitcher in question) has the baseball in his possession however when he does have the ball in his possession and is on the mound then he has 12 seconds to deliver it to the plate however an exception to this rule is when runners are on base.


Can a batter be a pitcher in a game?

Yes.


How do I delete my My League batter without deleting the pitcher in Baseball Superstars 2?

You can delete the batter and pitcher data separately when you press 'Delete My League Data'


A batter has 2 strikes he can foul off many pitches even when the pitcher keeps pitching strikes the batter cant hit in bounds the pitcher gets penlized should de 2strikes than 2fouls he is out?

No, why should the batter be penalized for "staying alive" by fouling off pitches. The classic confrontation between pitcher and batter is the heart of baseball.


If a batter digs in at home plate what type of challenge is it to the pitcher?

Pitch close to the batter.