answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The white ball is heavier than the rest of the balls

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-24 20:26:19
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How does a pool table know if the the white ball has been potted?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What colour is the ball that scores the most points in snooker?

Black Ball - 7 points Pink Ball - 6 points Blue Ball - 5 points Brown Ball - 4 points Green Ball - 3 points Yellow Ball - 2 points Red Ball - 1 point White Ball - If potted is a 4 point foul unless all reds and colours have been potted up to the blue ball. At this stage if the white is potted the points foul becomes the lowest colour i.e. 5 Points if blue, pink and black are left or 6 points if pink and black are left


Where did your ball go?

in a game of pool when you start it it gose in the D when it has been potted it gose in the D


In snooker with the six ball wild when all the red balls have been potted what is the numbered balls rotation?

yellow green brown blue pink black


How is the score kept for snooker games?

Similar to pool, snooker is a table top game with generally easy rules. Scoring is broken down by ball color. When one sinks or "pots" a colored ball via the white cue ball points are allocated accordingly. Red balls are worth one point, yellow 2, green 3, brown 4, blue 5, pink 6, and black 7. The winner is determined once all the balls have been potted and points are added up, highest score wins!


A ball is rolling across the top of a billiard table and slowly rolls to a stop How would Galileo explain the motion of the ball as it stopped?

The conclusion that would have been reached is that an outside forced stopped the acceleration of the ball. This would have been the force of gravity.


How do you use reserved in a sentence?

I reserved a seat for the ball. The dinner table has been reserved for you.Those 2 are good sentences.


What is the longest time keeping a ping pong ball off the ground?

there is one on me bedside table. been there for about 2 years


How many points are awarded if two reds are potted in one shot in snooker?

ONE point is scored for each red potted on a single stroke, therefore two points would be scored if two reds are potted in one shot (You could pot all fifteen reds and receive fifteen points, although I would not recommend it - see later) The exception to this would be in the case of a free ball being awarded. If a player fouls and leaves his opponent snookered, the referee awards the incoming player a 'free ball'. This means they can nominate a colour as a red (value one point, whatever the colour) and pot it as one would a red, following it with a colour etc. The difference is that if the player were to pot the 'free ball' (as a red) and ANOTHER red in the same stroke, he would only receive ONE point for the ball on, in this case the 'free ball'. He may also use the 'free ball' to pot ANOTHER red in a cannon, thereby receiving one point, as the potted red would also be a ball that was 'on' (an object ball). Any 'free ball' is re-spotted after potting as the colours stay on the table until all the reds are gone. It's actually a disadvantage to the player in stroke to pot more than one red at a time, as by doing so, he robs himself of points that could have been made with an accompanying colour. I once saw the inimitable Alex Higgins make a three red combination in a championship match in which the balls were at least a foot apart. I also once saw FOUR reds potted in a single shot and it was not a trick shot. I hope this answers your question.


How many points are awarde if two reds are potted in one shot in snooker?

ONE point is scored for each red potted on a single stroke, therefore two points would be scored if two reds are potted in one shot (You could pot all fifteen reds and receive fifteen points, although I would not recommend it - see later) The exception to this would be in the case of a free ball being awarded. If a player fouls and leaves his opponent snookered, the referee awards the incoming player a 'free ball'. This means they can nominate a colour as a red (value one point, whatever the colour) and pot it as one would a red, following it with a colour etc. The difference is that if the player were to pot the 'free ball' (as a red) and ANOTHER red in the same stroke, he would only receive ONE point for the ball on, in this case the 'free ball'. He may also use the 'free ball' to pot ANOTHER red in a cannon, thereby receiving one point, as the potted red would also be a ball that was 'on' (an object ball). Any 'free ball' is re-spotted after potting as the colours stay on the table until all the reds are gone. It's actually a disadvantage to the player in stroke to pot more than one red at a time, as by doing so, he robs himself of points that could have been made with an accompanying colour. I once saw the inimitable Alex Higgins make a three red combination in a championship match in which the balls were at least a foot apart. I also once saw FOUR reds potted in a single shot and it was not a trick shot. I hope this answers your question.


What is snookers highest score?

Fifteen Reds, Fifteen Blacks & all the colours would yield a break of 147, but if a foul is committed before any balls have been potted & a free ball is awarded a break of 158 is possible..


What does the term baulk-line mean in snooker?

The Baulk area is marked by a line drawn 29 inches from the bottom cushion. A semi circle with a radius of 11.5 inches centered on this line within Baulk forms the 'D' in which the cue ball must be placed when breaking off, or after the cue ball has been potted, or shot off the table. The position of three of the coloured balls, Green, Pink and Yellow are located along this line prior to the commencement of the game


Why is the game called ping pong?

The game ping pong is also knows as table tennis and has been played for centuries. It got its name from the sound the ball makes as it hits each side of the table.

People also asked