Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you decide to let a pitcher bat or use a desiganted hitter?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is a player who is designated to bat in place of the pitcher called?

Designated Hitter.

In what league does the pitcher bat in?

The National League. The American League has a designated hitter.

Does the pitcher in a Major League Baseball game get to hit?

There are two leagues in American major league baseball, the American League and the National League. The American League has the designated hitter rule which allows for someone other than the pitcher to bat in the pitcher's place. The pitcher does not bat in the American League. The National League does not have the designated hitter rule. The pitcher does bat in the National League.

If a new pitcher comes in the game where does he bat?

If the game is being played with the Designated Hitter rule, he does not bat at all. If the game is not being played with the Designated Hitter rule and the new pitcher simply replaces the prior pitcher, the new one bats in same place in the batting order as the former pitcher. If the pitcher comes in on a double switch, the new one may bat in place of the former pitcher or of the other player being removed at the manager's discretion.

What is DH?

designated hitter. In the major leagues DH's are only used in the American League. In the NL league the pitcher has to bat. Basically it is a designated hitter for the pitchers. But when AL and NL teams play each other the AL team does need to bat their pitcher.

A good-hitting pitcher bats for the shortstop. When his team takes the field the pitcher goes to the mound and a new shortstop enters the game. Does the new shortstop bat in the old shortstop's spot?

No, the pitcher would bat in the shortstop's spot and the shortstop would bat in the pitcher's/designated hitter's spot. According to MLB rule (6.10b), once a player bats for any player in the batting order and then enters the game as the pitcher, the designated hitter is no longer in effect.

Is designated hitter eliminated after hitting from hitting again in the same game?

No, the designated hitter hits for the whole game unless he is replaced by another player. You may be getting the rule mixed up with the National League. If a pitcher has completed an inning and the manager feels he has done his duty on the mound, he will call in a pinch-hitter for the pitcher (if he comes to bat before they go back out on the field). That hitter will only hit for that one time, then the next pitcher will take his place in the lineup. If they happen to bat around that inning, the pinch hitter will bat again.

Are Baseball pitchers allowed to be at bat?

In the National Baseball League - the pitcher is not only allowed to bat - he is required to. In the American Baseball League, the pticher does not bat. He was replaced in that capacity many years ago by the "designated hitter".

Can an American League pitcher bat?

The designated hitter cannot be used for any other player but the pitcher. Use of the DH is optional. The manager must designate a DH prior to the start of the game; failure to do so forfeits the right to use the DH, and the pitcher must then take his turn at bat.

Has a switch hitter ever switched sides during the same at bat in a game?

Yes, usually this is done when a new pitcher comes in during the same at-bat and throws with the opposite arm.

When a hitter is substituted at the plate who get the at bat?

the substituted hitter gets the at bat

Why does the Silver slugger award given to the best pitcher in the NL and the best designated hitter in the AL?

Because pitchers do not bat in the American League ... they are replaced in the batting order by the designated hitter.