Best Answer

The Division Champions are determined by the best Win-Loss record during regular season. If two clubs have identical regular season records, then the order of tiebreakers is as follows:

Two Club Tiebreakers
  1. Head-to-head (best won-lost-tied percentage in games between the clubs).
  2. Best won-lost-tied percentage in games played within the division.
  3. Best won-lost-tied percentage in common games.
  4. Best won-lost-tied percentage in games played within the conference.
  5. Strength of victory.
  6. Strength of schedule.
  7. Best combined ranking among conference teams in points scored and points allowed.
  8. Best combined ranking among all teams in points scored and points allowed.
  9. Best net points in common games.
  10. Best net points in all games.
  11. Best net touchdowns in all games.
  12. Coin toss

You may check:

for complete details, including if 3 or more teams tie.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-16 16:52:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How are the NFL division champions determined?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Does the NFL give rings to division champs?

No. Just the Super Bowl champions.

Who Are The NFL Saints?

The NFL Saints are the superbowl champions of superbowl XLIV (44) New Orleans Saints (Louisiana) are a NFL team,in the NFC SOUTH Division.

How many NFL teams are in the first round of the playoffs?

Eight. Two wild cards and the two lower ranking division champions in each conference.

How many teams from each NFL division make the playoffs?

1, 2, or 3. There are 6 playoff spots from each conference. The division champions each get a playoff berth, and two wild cards are given to the next two non-division champions with the best records. These two teams can be from the same division if the third place team in one division has a better record than all second place team from the other divisions.

What is the NFL Champions for 2016?

Denver Broncos

Do NFL conference champions get rings?


How does the NFL decide the wild card teams?

The two teams in each conference with the best record (excluding division champions) earn playoff berths as wildcard teams.

When is heredity determined?

Heredity is determined during cell division.

Are theColts the NFL champions?

yes, but its not 2006 or 2007

Who was the 1967 NFL champions?

Green Bay Packers

Are the packers the 2011 NFL champions?

Yes,they are the 2011 champions who went 9-6 in the regular season

What was the Chicago Bears season record in 1940?

The Bears went 8-3 in the 1940 season and were the NFC West Division champions. They defeated the Washington Redskins in the NFL Championship game.

People also asked