Best Answer

According to, there have been only five winners of the Heisman Trophy whose primary position was not running back or QB:

1) 1936 - Larry Kelley, Yale, End

2) 1949 - Leon Hart, Notre Dame, End

3) 1987 - Tim Brown, Notre Dame, Wide Receiver

4) 1991 - Desmond Howard, Michigan, Wide Receiver

5) 1997 - Charles Woodson, Michigan, Cornerback

Click on the 'Heisman Trophy Winners' link on this page to see a listing of Heisman winners from Thanks much...

I just did what you suggested, and I am more confused now.

In addition to the players you have listed above, Doc Blanchard ('45), Alan Ameche ('54), & Steve Owens ('69) are listed as FB, which I assume means fullback.

I then looked up 'fullback' in, and found that the fullback position is not often recognized as a running back any longer.

In recent years the position has evolved to be more a blocker than a runner, with occasional pass-catching duties. The remaining prominent fullbacks in the are typically employed for breaking through tight defensive alignments, often in short-yardage situations. As a result, fullbacks are typically less known for speed and agility than for muscularity and the ability to avoid being tackled by knocking down defenders.

Taking all this into consideration then....there would be a total of eight players on the above list....7 offensive, and 1 defensive!...Go figure!

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Some of the more recent winners:

1) 2004 - Jason White, Oklahoma

2) 2002 - Eric Crouch, Nebraska

3) 1995 - Charlie Ward, Florida State

White and Crouch were in training camps but did not make the final roster. Ward went on to have a 12 season career in the NBA, primarily with the New York Knicks.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Heisman Trophy winners who did not play in the NFL?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who are the first two Heisman Trophy winners to be selected for the NFL Hall of Fame?

Doak Walker and Roger Staubach

Who was the last player to win the Heisman Trophy and the NFL MVP award?

Barry Sanders ... won the Heisman in 1988 and the NFL MVP in 1997.

Oldest Heisman Trophy winner still playing in the NFL?

Charles woodson

What is the monetary value of winning the Heisman Trophy?

It has no monetary award, but it usually translates to a higher signing bonus when the player is drafted into the NFL.

Who was the first Heisman Trophy winner not to sign to the nfl?

Charlie Ward, Florida State, 1993

Has anyone won both the hiesman trophy and nfl mvp?

Paul Hornung, O.J. Simpson, Earl Campbell, Marcus Allen, and Barry Sanders have each won the Heisman Trophy and an NFL MVP award.

Who was the first Heisman Trophy winner born in Alabama?

Patrick Joseph Sullivan, born January 18, 1950 in Birmingham, Alabama won the Heisman Trophy in 1971 playing quarterback for the Auburn Tigers and then played in the NFL with the Atlanta Falcons and Washington Redskins.

Who won the Heisman and was MVP of the NFL?

I believe there have been four winners since the NFL-AFL merger. Barry Sanders was the last to win both. He won the Heisman in 1988 and shared the NFL MVP with Brett Favre in 1997. Marcus Allen won the Heisman in 1981 and the MVP in 1985. Earl Campbell won the Heisman in 1977 and the MVP in 1979. Finally, OJ Simpson won the Heisman in 1967 and the NFL MVP in 1973. Don't forget Paul Hornung -- the first to do it.

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 1988?

Barry Sanders, a running back for Oklahoma State University, was the winner of the 1988 Heisman Trophy. Sanders went on to a Hall of Fame career in the NFL playing 10 years with the Detroit Lions and finishing his career third in NFL all time rushing yardage with 15,269.

What team did Billy Simms play for in the NFL?

Sims, who won the Heisman Trophy as a junior at Oklahoma in 1978, was a running back for the Detroit Lions from 1980 to 1984.

Who was the first quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy?

The Downtown Athletic Club of New York City created the award and presented it first in 1935. The award, in 1935, was known as the 'DAC Trophy'. It was renamed 'Heisman Trophy' for John Heisman, the DAC's first athletic director, when Heisman passed away in 1936.

Which nfl players have won a super bowl a Heisman Trophy and is in the hall of fame?

Paul Hornung, Tony Dorsett, Roger Staubach and Marcus Allen