Most often it occured in the old days of Baseball. Baseball almanac has the info:
It's true it happened more often in the old days, but you still see it occasionally, mostly when there's a left-hander on the mound. I saw it happen at Fenway Park about seven years ago. And of course Brad Ausmus did it in the 2002 World Series.
A passed ball is given to the catcher if he misses a pitch or fails to keep it from getting away from him. When the pitcher is at fault, it is called a wild pitch.
If the ball gets passed the catcher on a (passed) drooped 3rd strike it is scored as a strike out ... If the catcher throws the ball to 1st before the batter gets there it is scored as a strike out and or a 2 to 3 put out ...More then likely a passed ball will be scored an Error then another way ...
Are you perhaps referring to a "passed ball"? If a pitch gets past the catcher allowing a runner to advance one or more bases then the official scorekeeper has to make a decision. If he/she rules that the catcher should have been able to catch or stop the pitch but did not then the ruling is that the error was made by the catcher and it is a "passed ball". If the scorekeeper rules that the fault lies instead with the pitcher then it is ruled a "wild pitch".
They each have an important purpose, but catcher is more important in the levels in which you can steal bases. This applies since the catcher prevents passed balls, as a runner can steal easily on passed balls.
Allies baseball mitt represents his love for Allie. when Allie passed away he kept it and hid it. he has only shown one person the glove which is Jane Gallagher.
Yes, if the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher has a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a passed ball and the error is charged to the catcher. If the ball is pitched in a location where the catcher does NOT have a reasonable chance of stopping the ball, that is a wild pitch and the error is charged to the pitcher. Actually, a passed ball is NOT charged as an error against the catcher. It's simply charged as a passed ball. Not terribly logical, I agree, but that's the rule.
He only passed english
A player can reach 1st Base on a Hit, a Walk, or an Error. [A Balk is an Error on the Pitcher, and a Passed Ball is an Error by the Catcher.]
That would be Cy Young. The award, named for him, was not created until the 1950s, long after he retired and passed away.
Passed BallA pitch that should have been fielded by the catcher but was missed, allowing a runner to advance a base.Note: this is not the same thing as a wild pitch, which is scored as the pitchers fault.I presume you mean "passed ball." This is a ball that gets past the catcher when thrown by the pitcher, when the catcher should have caught it. It is distinct from a wild pitch, which is one where the pitcher, not the catcher, is considered to have been at fault. The distinction between the two have no effect on the final score. The decision on whether a ball is a wild pitch or a passed ball is made by the official scorer at the game.
social history is the history which is passed down from generation to generation