Best Answer

No. The ball is dead as of the illegal touch.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Football pass touches ineligible receiver first can a receiver catch and advance?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is there a loss of down for an ineligible receiver downfield?

No, not unless he touches the ball, in which case the penalty would be illegal touching. Ineligible receiver downfield: 5 yard penalty, replay the down Illegal touching by ineligible: 5 yard penalty, loss of down

What happens when the football hits the helmet of the receiving team?

a fumble that cannot be advanced by the kicking team Under current NFL rules, whether the ball hits a receiver in the helmet or not, is a non-factor. You can catch the ball off of your head, someone else's head, etc. So long as the ball never touches the ground. That said, it's illegal for a pass to hit an ineligible receiver first (an offensive lineman for example) in any way.

Is an NFL receiver down when his knee touches?


Can you return a football if a defender touches it?

Yes, you can.

In football if the ball goes out of bounds and a player is inbounds and catches the ball when it is out but he isn't is it a complete pass?

The ball is not "out of bounds" unless the ball or the player who possesses it touches the ground in an out of bounds area. So in the case where the ball is in flight over the sideline, and a player who is inbounds catches it and demonstrates control before stepping out, the pass is complete.

Is a runner on base permitted to advance on a fly ball as soon as the fielder touches the ball?


Can the batter be called out on a bases loaded walk if he does not advance to first?

yes- if goes out of the baseline before he touches first base, he is out.

The main player in a football game is?

The quarterback because he touches the ball every play and commands the field.

Why was the immaculate reception a bad call?

By rule, one offensive player who touches the pass first makes it illegal for a 2nd eligible receiver to then catch that same pass.

What must occur for a player to advance a punt in which he made a signal for a fair catch?

He must muff (he touches the ball but does not completely possess the ball) the ball.

What positions can catch a football?

In American football, the only players who cannot catch a pass are the interior offensive linemen. They are considered "ineligible." Tight ends, split ends and everyone behind the line of scrimmage (including the quarter back, punter and kicker) are eligible receivers. Ineligible receivers may not cross the line of scrimmage on a pass play until the ball is thrown. They also may not be the first player to touch a pass, but they may catch a pass that has already touched another player.Of course, any defensive player can intercept a pass at any time.

Does runner need to tag up if a ball is caught after a rebound from another player?

Runners may tag up and advance after the first fielder touches the ball.