Best Answer

The first team to win a premiership was Essendon in 1897. That was in VFL.

The first team to win after the AFL formation was Collingwood, in 1990.

However, St. Kilda were the first wooden spooners in 1897. ST. Kilda have enough wooden spoons to give to a whole team! ... to be precise: 26. Essendon won the first Premiership flag via a round robin-type season.

(In those years, only 8 teams were playing: St. Kilda, Essendon, Carlton, Fitzroy, Collingwood, South Melbourne, Melbourne and Geelong.)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-11-03 13:14:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: First team to win AFL Premiership?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked