answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, the player may surely switch sides; he may do so as long as the pitcher is not in the "ready position" (see rule 6.06),and, shall be called out if the batter attempts to switch sides during the pitcher's windup.(Incidentally, there has always been a popular myth in the Baseball culture that a batter can only switch sides before there are two strikes. This is just a false statement). Read your baseball rulebook!

Yes, he can. It usually happens when the opposing team changes pitchers. Generally, left-handed hitters hit better against right-handed pitchers (and vice versa), so if a switch hitter is batting left-handed against a right-handed pitcher, and the other team changes to a lefty in the middle of the at-bat, the switch hitter will usually move to the right side of the plate to counter this.

There is no rule in the MLB rule book that states how many times a batter can switch sides during an at bat. However, once the pitcher steps on the rubber, whatever side the batter is on is the side he must bat from for that pitch.

Per above, there is no rule in the rulebook that states that he cannot change from one batter's box to the other in the middle of an at-bat. The only rule about switching boxes is 6.06b which says that he cannot switch boxes if the pitcher is in the ready position. Otherwise, no problem.

yeah they can i have done it before

addendum - PBUC 'Pat Venditte rule' Pitcher must indicate which arm he will use to throw the next pitch and then the batter must take either box. I am not sure what rule number in the PBUC that this falls under. If anyone has it please add it for me.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2015-07-16 18:59:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

➑️
See all cards
3.0
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
4 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: During an at bat can a switch hitter change sides of the plate?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a batter who is a switch hitter change which side of the plate he hits from during a single at-bat?

noWrong!! The batter may switch sides of the plate as long as the pitcher is not on the rubber prepared to pitch. He could switch several times during the at-bat.


Can a switch hitter change sides of the plate in a fast pitch softball game?

Yes they can no matter the pitch count.


If a switch hitter bats as a lefty and the other team after the first pitch changes the pitcher can he then switch to the other side of the plate?

A batter may change sides of the plate at any time during an at-bat as long as the pitcher is not in the set position -- that is to say, on the rubber. (See rule 6.06b)


What is it called when a batter can hit from either side of the plate?

The batter is called a switch hitter.


Which Switch hitter home runs from both sides of the plate in one inning?

Carlos Barea


How do you change the driver's power window switch in a 1995 Camaro?

pry out the switch assembly plate, disconnect the electrical connectors, then pry the window button out of the plate.


Can a batter switch sides of the plate during the same at bat?

Switching Sides of PlateYou are not allowed to switch sides of the plate once the first pitch of the at bat has been delivered


How do you reset oil change button on suzuki df40?

Change oil. Turn motor ignition switch to on but don't start Pull off emergency kill switch plate Pull emergency kill switch 3 times in less than 7 seconds. Replace kill switch plate. Done.


Can a batter switch sides of the plate during the same at bat in slow pitch softball?

Yes


Why did Mickey Mantle become a switch-hitter?

For various reasons, batters hit better when they are on the side of the plate opposite from the side the pitcher is throwing from. A batter who can hit equally well from both sides of the plate thus eliminates any advantage a pitcher throwing from the same side would have. Thus, Mantle was raised to be a switch hitter by his family.


Can a switch hitter change sides during a time at bat?

A batter can change sides of the plate as many times as they choose. Just like a manager can change pitchers as many times as they choose.No a batter cannot change sides, unless the opposing team brings in a new pitcher that throws with the other hand.Although managers may make unlimited batter substitutions, the same does not apply to pitchers. Unless he is injured, once a pitcher is brought into a game, he must face at least one batter before he can be taken out. The hitter can switch sides if there is a pitching change, but he can only do it once.Where is the rule in MLB that states a batter cannot switch sides multiple times when batting? I have seen this answer countless times and no one specifies a rule.UPDATED INFORMATION:There is no official rule governing this issue. All the rule books state is that a batter cannot switch sides at the plate when the pitcher is set to deliver a pitch. This means that he/she may switch as often as he/she would like as long as the pitcher is not in his/her motion. There is nothing stating the number of times that he/she may switch sides at a single at bat. That is only a myth.


Who was the first switch hitter to hit home runs from both sides of the plate in a single game?

Catcher Wally Schang of the Philadelphia Athletics in 1916.

People also asked