answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A run counts if the runner crossed the plate legally and before the third out. If the runner crosses the plate even a half-second before the third out is tagged on the basepaths, then the run counts. If the out is made a half-second before the runner crosses the plate, then the run does not count. One exception is that with two outs the runner cannot score until all forced runners have reached their bases safely. That is, if the batter-runner is thrown out at first even after the runner crossed the plate, then the run does not count. Same thing if a runner is thrown out at second or third base (on a force-play only).

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-09 01:46:24
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the run count if it is made before an out is called?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does the run count if two outs with the third out being a force out if the run crosses home plate first?

Yes, if the run crosses home plate before the third out is made, the run will count.


Does the run count if the runner crosses home before the third out is made?

no, if the out was a force out at any base. Yes, otherwise.


When the bases are loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS The runner scores before the SS throws the batter out Does the run count?

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count


Does run count if crosses plate before third out at first?

The run doesn't count if the out at first is a force out, if the batter overruns first base and is tagged out in an attempt to get back to first then the run would count.


Does the run count on the third out?

no it does not count, even if the plate is touched by the runner the run still does not count!


Does run Michael run count as a Michael Jackson short film?

No his short films are long versions of his music videos (e.g Bad 14 minutes long) and seeing as he never made anything called Run Michael Run it has nothing do to with him.


Does the run count in a school game where the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher he misses it the umpire picks it up and tosses it back to the pitcher while the runner on third steals home?

If the umpire picked it up the run should not count because the umpire had probably called a timeout before he picked it up. If not the run should not count anyway because it is interference on the umpires part.


Does the run count if the the runner crosses home before the out is committed?

Presumption - you mean "Does the run count if the runner crosses home before the THIRD out is committed?" It depends on the nature of the third out. If the out is a force out (e.g. fly ball out, out on an appeal, or force out at a base the runner must advance) then the run does not count. If the third out of an inning is a non-force play where the runner does not have to advance (e.g. a runner stretching a single into a double is thrown out at 2nd), then the run counts if the scoring runner reaches the plate prior to the out being made.


Scoring a run when another runner fails to tag-up on a caught fly?

As long as the run crosses the plate before the runner not tagging-up was put out then the run would count. (assuming the 2nd out ends the inning) -- if there was 0 outs then it does not matter when the run scored in relation to the 2nd out --- now in an instance where there was an appeal and the other runner was called out -- the run that scored would still count Basically it is like any other situation in that instance... if the run scored before the out it counts


With the bases loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS. The runner scores before the SS tags the runner from second. Does the run count?

yes it does But in the situation where the ball is thrown to first base witch would be a force out, even if the 3rd base runner has scored the run does not count! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- WRONG. The run cannot count if the third out was made on a batter/runner before he reaches a base he was force to advance to. Doesn't matter if he was tagged or the ball was thrown to the base.


What was the count when Marco Scutaro delivered the winning run of game 4 of the 2012 World Series?

The count was 3 balls and 1 strike ... Marco took a called strike followed by three balls before singling to center field to drive in the game and Series winning run.


Does the run count if the the runner crosses home before the final out is committed on a runner who is tagged running to first base?

Yes it does count because the runner crossed home before the final out.!


How do you get points in baseball if you don't run?

There are no "points" in baseball. The scores are called "runs" for the very reason that, in order to score, you must run. Even if you hit a home run, you still have to circle the bases for the run to count. In 1999, Robin Ventura hit a walk-off grand slam (a rare feat), but his teammates mobbed him before he could circle the bases, meaning the run didn't count.


Does the run count if when bases loaded the runner crosses the plat before runner is forced out at second base?

no


If a runner crosses the plate before the third out is called does the run score.?

The batter will need to reach 1st base safely (credited with reaching safely by hit or error) before any runs count on a play where a 3rd out is recorded. If the batter and all runners required to run advance to the next base safely, any player crossing the plate before the out will count. If all players required to run DO NOT safely advance then no runs will count even if they cross the plate before the out is recorded (much like many rules in baseball there are several scenerios, those need to be discussed on the discussion page)


Does the run count if the third out results from a runner stepping out of the baseline?

It depends on whether or not the 3rd Out was a force play or not. If not a force play, the run scores if the runner crosses the plate before the other runner is tagged out. This is called a timing play.


If a runner from third crosses home before fielder tags runner running from first on batted ball does run count?

If you mean that there are already two outs, then, no, the run does not count. Any time the batter is put out before reaching 1st base, it is considered a force out. Therefore, no run counts on a play where the batter makes the 3rd out before reaching 1st base.


Does a sacrifice count as at bat?

No but it does count as an RBI if a run scores


What is it called the Race run before the final?

It is the semi-final.


Can a runner score before a force out is made at second after a failed attempt of making a force out at first?

IF you mean there are 2 outs then the answer is no, if the out is a force out then the run doesn't count even if the runner touched home before the ball reached the force out bag.


Runner on third two outs batter is out at first on an infield ground ball does the run count?

no the run does not count


Does the run count if the runner touches home before the last out is forced at any base?

no it would be an out ...in less it wasent a force out


What was the Disaster Transport originally called before it was enclosed?

avalanche run


What was the disaster transport orignally called before it was enclosed?

Avalanche Run


Bases loaded with 2 outs they try to get the force on 3rd but the runner makes it before the throw but overruns 3 the runner on 3 makes it home be4 the over-runner is tagged out does the run count?

Yes the run scores, it would be scored the same as if s runner was thrown out trying to stretch a single into a double and a run crossed the plate before the put was made