answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

As long as the football crosses the plane of the goal line while legally under control in the ball carrier's possession, it's a touchdown regardless of where the player's body is (unless he goes out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane).

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-02 04:24:38
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the player have to cross the plane of the goal line to be a touchdown or just the football?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the football does not cross the plain is it a touchdown?

no , the tip of the ball must clearly cross the plane.


If a player catches the football while his feet are inside the goal line but the ball is not is it a touchdown?

The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.


Does the football have to cross the plane of the goal line to be a touchdown?

The football need only "break the plane of the goal line". If any part of the ball crosses the goalline, it's a touchdown. The entire ball does not have to cross.


When a football breaks the plane in the endzone when is it a touchdown?

you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.


How much of the football has to cross the goal line?

If any part of the football crosses the plane of the goal line it is considered a touchdown.


What is the definition in football of breaking the plane?

When commentators and football fans say "breaking the plane" they're talking about the endzone. The first and foremost rule in scoring a touchdown is that the football must break the plane or cross into the endzone some kind of way for anyone to even think about it being a touchdown. If a team runs the ball, it wouldn't matter if the player got his whole body into the endzone. If the ball didn't break the plane as he went in it is not a touchdown. If the ball is passed and is caught by a player who is falling forward out of the endzone and he doesn't allow the ball to break the plane it is not a touchdown.


How do you get a touchdown in football?

The ball must break the plane of the end zone (doesn't have to completely cross) while a player is in possession of the ball and before he goes out of bounds or is tackled.


Does the football have to break the plane to be called a touchdown?

Yes


Is it a touchdown if the ball breaks the plane of the goal line on the out of bounds side when a player is diving?

The ball has to be in the touchdown zone. If it is above the zone it is still a touchdown. Take Troy Polamalu's touchdown on Dec,12,2010. He dived, broke the plane of the goal line but he was holding the football above the zone so it counts as a touchdown. In some cases the ref might not count it.


Did the player have to be inbound to score a touchdown?

Yes. The technical way to score a touchdown is to have to ball "cross the plane" into the endzone without the player being down or out of bounds. With a catch, the player must establish himself as inbounds while maintaining possession. In the NFL, the player must do so with two feet inbounds. In NCAA Division I football, the player only needs to do so with one foot inbounds. With a run, the player must have not stepped out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane into he endzone.


Does the ball have to cross the entire goal line or just touch it to be a touchdown?

Any part of the ball must cross the goal line. Once any part of the ball has "broken the plane" it is a touchdown. The "whole" ball does not need to cross the line. If the ball is touching the white line, but no part of it passes the white line it is NOT a touchdown.


Does the football have to cross the goaline in the field of play to be a touchdown?

No, the ball does not have to cross the goal line in the FOP to score a touchdown. The GL extends outside of the pylons and in theory, go around the world. If the ball breaks the plane of the GL extended, it is necessary in the NFL to have any part of the ball carrier's body cross over the pylon or inside the pylon, even though the ball crosses outside of the pylon.

People also asked