no , the tip of the ball must clearly cross the plane.
The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.
The football need only "break the plane of the goal line". If any part of the ball crosses the goalline, it's a touchdown. The entire ball does not have to cross.
you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.
If any part of the football crosses the plane of the goal line it is considered a touchdown.
When commentators and football fans say "breaking the plane" they're talking about the endzone. The first and foremost rule in scoring a touchdown is that the football must break the plane or cross into the endzone some kind of way for anyone to even think about it being a touchdown. If a team runs the ball, it wouldn't matter if the player got his whole body into the endzone. If the ball didn't break the plane as he went in it is not a touchdown. If the ball is passed and is caught by a player who is falling forward out of the endzone and he doesn't allow the ball to break the plane it is not a touchdown.
The ball must break the plane of the end zone (doesn't have to completely cross) while a player is in possession of the ball and before he goes out of bounds or is tackled.
The ball has to be in the touchdown zone. If it is above the zone it is still a touchdown. Take Troy Polamalu's touchdown on Dec,12,2010. He dived, broke the plane of the goal line but he was holding the football above the zone so it counts as a touchdown. In some cases the ref might not count it.
Yes. The technical way to score a touchdown is to have to ball "cross the plane" into the endzone without the player being down or out of bounds. With a catch, the player must establish himself as inbounds while maintaining possession. In the NFL, the player must do so with two feet inbounds. In NCAA Division I football, the player only needs to do so with one foot inbounds. With a run, the player must have not stepped out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane into he endzone.
Any part of the ball must cross the goal line. Once any part of the ball has "broken the plane" it is a touchdown. The "whole" ball does not need to cross the line. If the ball is touching the white line, but no part of it passes the white line it is NOT a touchdown.
No, the ball does not have to cross the goal line in the FOP to score a touchdown. The GL extends outside of the pylons and in theory, go around the world. If the ball breaks the plane of the GL extended, it is necessary in the NFL to have any part of the ball carrier's body cross over the pylon or inside the pylon, even though the ball crosses outside of the pylon.