answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed.

If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-23 20:06:41
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the pitcher before the save get the win?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Pitcher leaves game with one run lead but two runners on base relief pitcher comes in finishes game for win does relief pitcher get a win or save?

He gets a save


Is it possible for a pitcher to be credited for a win and a save in the same game if he goes to another position and then comes in the get the final out?

no. According to the rulebook a save can only be awarded to a pitcher who is not already being considered for the win.


How does a pitcher earn a win in baseball?

TO UPDATE THE PERSON'S POST ABOVE: MLB Rules state that a condition for a "save" is that the pitcher is not eligible for a "win". As such, a relief pitcher entering the game prior to the 5th as a reliever would get credit for the win, with no save allocated. If a pitcher pitches 6 innings and leaves the mound with the lead to field another position, then returns in the 9th to close, he remains credited with the win (if his score holds) with no save allocated. As for a team taking the lead with a pinch-hitter for a pitcher, the actual change of pitcher of record does not take effect until the next pitcher "takes the mound". Though the pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter, the performance of the team will affect his ability to win the game. In other words, if the pitcher leaves the game while his team is on offense with the lead, he can only earn a win or a no decision. If he leaves the game while his team is on offense with a tie or behind, he can win, lose, or have a no-decision, depending on what the score is when the next pitcher takes the mound.


Can a save be earned by the visiting team pitcher in extra innings in MLB?

Yes, the pitcher who pitched the bottom of the previous inning would get the win and if a new pitcher is used in the bottom of the next inning and holds the lead, he would get the save.


Has anyone ever blown 2 saves in same game?

No, by definition that is not possible. Should a pitcher stay in the game after blowing a save and the team retakes the lead, the pitcher would be in line to get a win and not a save.


Does the new pitcher in the top of the seventh inning of a 1-0 ballgame get the win or a save?

If the relief pitcher pitches 3 innings, and completes the game, and never gave up the lead, he would get a save.


How do you decide if pitchers get the win or loss or no decision?

If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.


Who gets the credit win as a pitcher when the game is tied up 3-3 in the 4th inning and the relieve pitcher comes in and the final score is 6-3 a win?

With no addtional information available, the winning pitcher is the relief pitcher who came in in the 4th inning. Remember, a starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings before he can be credited with a win.


Who was the NL pitcher with win in 2010 All Star game?

The winning pitcher was Matt Capps of the Washington Nationals. Jonathan Broxton of the Los Angeles Dodgers was credited with a save.


What is a save in baseball?

A save is where the team who is leading brings out a pitcher to close a game. Usually the team calls out the closer who specializes in saves, but sometimes the team puts out a different reliever to rest the closer. Saves consist of mainly 1-3 run leads sometimes even 4. The new pitcher usually comes in the ninth inning to close out the game and give the team a win, but the closer may have to come in the eighth inning with two outs, this is called a four out save. If the pitcher blows the lead it is called a blown save. The pitcher can still get the win though. They record the closers record of saves, for example the pitcher could have a 43/46 record. This means the pitcher saved 43 games out of 46.


Pitcher leaves game relief pitcher enters with two runners on base and one run lead does relief pitcher get win or save?

It will depend on the circumstances. If this happens in the top of the ninth inning, he will get a save if he retires the remaining batters without giving up a run, but if he gives up one run to tie the game, so that the game is tied in the middle of the ninth, he will get a win if his team gets a run in the bottom of the ninth inning. Peter


If your team wins the game who gets the win starting pitcher or the closing pitcher?

it all depends. if the starting pitcher goes 5ins or more and leaves the game with the lead he is in-titled to the win. the way the closer gets the win is if he goes in tied or losing and he is the last one to throw a pitch before his team takes the lead and wins the game.


Who was the winning pitcher of the final game of the World Series in 1982?

Joaquin Andujar of the Cardinals got the win and Bruce Sutter got the save.


What does it take for a relief pitcher to get the win for the starting pitcher?

If a relief pitcher enters the game with the score tied or his team behind and leaves or ends the game with the lead and his team wins, HE (the relief pitcher) gets the win rather than the starting pitcher. He can also get the win if he enters the game with more than one runner on base and the other team takes the lead based on those runners scoring (the runners already on base are charged to the previous pitcher) as long as he leaves or ends with the lead and his team wins.If the relief pitcher enters the game with his team ahead and the other team never ties the score or gets ahead, then the win goes to the starting pitcher. The relief pitcher is credited with a "save" if he finishes the game without giving up the lead.Also - the starting pitcher has to go 5 innings to get credited with the win.


Can a MLB pitcher get a save in extra innings?

A home pitcher can't get a save opportunity since any lead would result in a walkoff victory. However a road pitcher can get a save opportunity by relieving another pitcher in the bottom of the inning when they have the lead.


Who was the last Giants pitcher to win the Cy Young Award before Lincecum won it in 2008?

Mike McCormick.


How does a pitcher get a save in baseball?

A pitcher can get a save in baseball when his team is winning by three or less. It can be a 5 out svae or 3 out save. Sometimes there are other ways.


What is the least number of pitches a pitcher in a baseball game can throw to get the win?

0. Example: Pitcher enters the game in the top of the 9th with his team behind by one run. There are two outs and a runner on first. The pitcher picks the runner off of first for the third out before throwing a pitch to the batter. His team scores two runs in the bottom of the 9th to win the game. The pitcher is credited with the win even though he threw 0 pitches.


Who was the winning pitcher for the mets in the 1969 World Series?

Lefthander Jerry Koosman, who also was the winning pitcher in Game 2. Koosman pitched 8 innings in game 2, got the win with Ron Taylor picking up the save. Koosman pitched a complete game in Game 5 to win the title for the Mets.


What is a 'save' in baseball?

A save is when a relief pitcher comes in with his team leading and finishes the game without giving up the lead. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Not all such appearances are saves. To be credited with a save, the pitcher's team must win, he must be the pitcher at the end of the game, and he must not be credited with the win. (Essentially the above answer.) But then he must qualify in one of three additional ways: (1) he pitched effectively for at least three innings; (2) he came into the game with his team leading by no more than 3 runs, and pitched at least one full inning; or (3) he entered the game with the tying run on base, at bat, or on deck.


How many innings must a high school starting pitcher pitch before being eligible to earn a win?

five.


What is it called when a relief pitcher is called in to win a game?

If the game is within 3 runs, or the go-ahead run is on base, at the plate, or on deck, it is called a Save Situation.


Pitcher enters a game in the top of the 9th. His team is down by 1 run. A runner is caught stealing before he throws a pitch. His team wins the game in the bottom of the 9th. Is he the winning pitcher?

Yes. Even though the pitcher did not throw a pitch he was the pitcher of record when the winning runs scored. So he would get credit for the win. Let's say this happened in the 6th inning: A pitcher comes in with the bases loaded, two out, and his team is trailing 6-4. He picks the runner off of first base before he throws a pitch. In the bottom of the 6th the pitcher is pinch hit for and his team scores 4 runs to put his team ahead 8-6. The game ends with a score of 8-7. The pitcher would be credited with the win in this case because, as before, he was the pitcher of record when the go-ahead runs scored. I cannot recall this ever happening but, by rule, a pitcher can be credited with a win without throwing a single pitch.


How many innings does a pitcher need to pitch to get win?

A starting pitcher needs to pitch at least 5 innings to get the win. Any subsequent pitcher can get the win even if he only retires one batter (or base runner). If the starting pitcher leaves with the lead but without pitching 5 innings, and his team maintains that lead, the official scorer can decide which pitcher to give the win to.


What is the pitcher of record?

The pitcher of record is the pitcher who will gain the win or loss when the game ends.