answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

He stays at first, the shortstop caught the ball and so the batter is out, therefore no one can run.

The runner can run from first once he/she has 'tagged up'. Tagged up means that the runner touched first base after the defensive player has caught the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

If the ball goes out of play, sometimes the runner automatically gets to advance a base. If that didn't happen, then yes.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a runner who is at first when the ball was hit and caught in the air in center field get to go to third if when they try to double him off at first and over throw and the ball goes out of play?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the ruling if a thrown ball is caught in field equipment?

Ground rule double


Baseball runner on first base fly ball is caught in field of play by first baseman but first baseman then falls out of field of play how many bases does runner on first advance one or two bases?

There is no free base or "advancing" by rule based on this play. Runner tries to advance at his or her own discretion if they take up.


If a base runner is on first and the batter hits a one hopper to center field and the center fielder throws out the runner headed to second who paused to ensure he did not tag Is it a hit?

This is ruled a Fielder's Choice (FC) in the scorebook. The batter is charged an at-bat, with no hit issued.


One out and runner on second base and ball is hit to deep fly ball to right field and caught How many bases can a player on second base advance after the ball is caught?

As long as he has tagged up he can advance the whole way to home.


What if the runner is going back to 1st to tag up because of a fly ball being caught and the ball goes out of play - how many bases does he get?

2 from where he started. A simple example would be a fly ball left field, the ball is caught and the fielder flips the ball to a fan in the seats thinking it is the 3rd out. The runner is awarded 3rd base.


If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.


One out runners on 1st and 3rd fly ball hit to right field Ball is caught thrown to 1st base to double off the runner Runner on third scores Does the run count and how do you appeal the runner left e?

Answer to first part: Run does not count. Explanation: For the runner on third coming home, the run does not count. No run counts on a play where the third out is a force out. There was one out when the play began; batter hits fly ball which is caught for the second out; ball is thrown to first base and the runner there is called out for the third out; this is considered a force out, therefore, the run does not count. Answer to second part: Runner on first is called out. Explanation: Only the defense can appeal that the runner left early. The offense (team at bat) cannot appeal that the runner did NOT leave early. Note: The act of the right fielder throwing to first base is considered the appeal. If the runner is called out, there is no further action possible or necessary. If the runner is called safe, the defense (team in the field) can appeal by the usual process (where the pitcher with the ball addresses the rubber, then steps off the rubber and throws to first), but the same call will be made; why would the umpire change his mind?


Who covers first base on a double play when the ball is hit to first baseman?

That depends on where the 1st baseman fields the ball. If the 1st baseman can field the ball, throw to second, and have enough time to get safely back to the base to catch the return throw, then (s)he will cover. If not, then it is the responsibility of the pitcher.


Does a runner who is at first when the ball was hit and caught in the air in center field get to go to third if when they try to double him off at first and over throw and the ball goes out of the fie?

Yes ... MLB Rule 7.05(g) states that a runner may advance ... "Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made".


Is runner out if fielder does not field the ball and the runner is then hit by the ball?

If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.


What is a fly ball that is caught but scores a run?

It is called a sacrifice fly or sac fly. A lot of the time, people hit it iinto deep right field, so they can advance the runner on 3rd home.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.