answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Once the ball is first touched on the fly by a player, runners can begin to advance. For example, if a line drive caroms off the glove of the second basemen and flies out to the right fielder who catches it on the fly, runners would only have to tag up until the ball hit the second basemen's glove.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-04 18:48:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a runner have to tag up to advance if an outfielder juggles the flyball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If an outfielder juggles a fly ball when do the baserunners have to tag up?

when the ball is touched, it's officially in play and the tagged runner can run.


If an outfielder juggles a fly ball with runners on base and he eventually catches the ball do the runners still have to tagup before advancing to the next base?

The runner is allowed to leave as soon as the ball touches the glove as that is the beginning of the catch.


A pop fly is bobbled by the outfielder and the runner takes off before he has control of the ball is it out?

The runner would be out if he does not return to the base before the fielder throws it to the base. Runners may advance from their base as soon as the ball is touched by a fielder. In this case, the runner would not be out.


Is advancing a runner buy hitting a flyball or putting the ball in play considered a time at bat?

It is not considered an at bat if it is a fly ball to the outfield or a bunted sacrifice. If it is a ground out and runners advance it is a time at bat.


If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


Can a boy when he steals 2nd base and the throw to 2nd goess into outfield can the runner advance to 3rd or is this a one base at a time deal?

When the ball is in play, a base runner can always ATTEMPT to advance to the next base. He is allowed to advance to next base if the ball was badly thrown during an attempted steal of an earlier base. Note that, if the outfielder throws the ball to third base and the third baseman tags the runner before he gets to third base, the runner is out -- just like any other attempt to "steal" a base.


Can a runner advance if a batter bunts foul on his 3rd strike?

No a runner cannot advance


What does ''advance the runner'' mean?

In baseball "advance the runner" is a term used to say get a runner on base to move forward to another base.


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


Is it illegal in football for a player to advance the runner?

Technically, yes, it is illegal to advance the runner. The official penalty is called "Helping the Runner." It is rarely enforced, however.


Can a runner advance to second with less than 2 outs in ASA softball?

What's the rest of the question? A runner can advance for many reasons. No outs, one out or two outs has no barring for the runner advancing.


Old mlb rules hitting runner with ball?

If a runner is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder, the runner is out. The ball is dead and no runner may score. And no runner can advance, except runners forced to advance. [Rule 7.08(f)]


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Bases loaded 1 out Batter hits fly ball which is caught-2nd out Runner from 3rd scores Runner from 2nd fails to tag. Outfielder throws to 2nd before runner tags up Does the run count?

yes


If a runner is returning to a base to tag up after a fly ball and the outfielder's throw back to the base goes out of play how many bases is the runner awarded?

Two bases from the base the runner occupied at the time the wild throw was made.


Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


When can a runner on base advance on a foul ball?

No.


What happens in major league baseball when an outfielder catches a fly ball in his hat?

It's not a catch, and there's a 3-base award. According to Rule 7.05(b): Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


When an outfielder attempts to throw out a runner off a basehit and his throw hits the base umpire is the ball dead?

Ball is still in play


Can an outfielder get an assist for simply handling a base hit cleanly?

There is an assist only when there is an out. If you have a base hit and no runner is thrown out or tagged out there is no assist.


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base


Does a runner on first have to advance on a ground ball?

Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.