answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Not often. Most commonly, it is the 3B coach. If it is MLB, the 3B coach gets his signs from the Manager in the dugout. In NCAA, sometimes the Head Coach is at 3B, sometimes he stays in the dugout.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-07-10 15:09:29
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a first base coach signal the runner to steal second base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When if ever would a batter sign or signal to a coach or his team mates?

One time would be after the third base coach goes through the set of signals telling the batter and baserunner(s) what the play is going to be. The batter might touch his helmet or grab a handful of dirt to signify that he understood the signal or hitch up his pants to signify that he did not understand the signal. Another time might be when a batter notices the third baseman playing deep and/or off the line and he thinks he might be able to drop a bunt down and get on base. If there is a runner on the batter might give a signal that he is going to attempt to lay down a bunt. Base runners will do this also, especially when there is a runner on first and no other runners on. The runner might notice something in the pitcher's delivery that would give him an advantage if he tried to steal second base. The runner might give a signal that he is going to attempt a steal on the next pitch.


When a runner steals second makes contact with bag then told by opposing player it was foul when it was not and he runs back to first and is thrown out?

The runner is out. If there is any question, the player should ask the umpire or his coach, not an opposing player.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


If a runner runs into the base coach at third base is it coach interference?

Yes, it is coach's interference if, in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at 3rd base, or at 1st base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving first or third base.


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


Is it a force out at second base if the out at first occurs before the out at second?

No, once the runner heading for first base is out, the runner heading toward second base may safely return to first.


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


When a player is on first or third can the coach be out of the box?

The 1st base coach can never be out of the coach's box. The 3rd base coach can only be out of his box when the ball is hit and there is a runner on or advancing to 3rd base.


What are all olympic runner's from the 80's?

runner star in the late 80's who's coach did the first design for the nike sneaker


Should the third base coach give the number 4 batter a take sign with runners on first and third with one out?

Yes, When there are runners on first and third with one out, the first base runner will have the chance to steal second, if the hitter didn't have a take sign and hits a line drive or shallow pop up then there will be a double play. When there is only one out a catcher usually wont risk the throw to second because the runner on third can score. BUT keep in mind in the big leagues (MLB) this can vary. A runner may not be fast enough to run the ninety feet to second or home. In little league the coach will give him the take a pitch sign, probably up to high school. After high school its a coach's preference and a lot of coaches will let the #4 hitter hit away.


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction


What is an energy relay race?

Energy relay game is a race game, in which there are four runner (One team). There are three points where the first runner of the team passes the stick to the second runner. The second runner passes the stick to third runner and third runner passes the stick to last runner. This cycle is completed by all the participating teams. The team who did this first is the winner.


What is the name of the third person who wins in a competition?

The third place win is usually referred to as the second runner up. The winner is first, the runner up is second, the second runner up is third.


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


Runners on 1st and 2nd ball is hit to shortstop the runner from second to third takes three steps off the bag and goes back to second the shortstop tags runner standing on second and then tags bag?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


What is a base coaches job?

A base coaches job in baseball is to give signals to the runners of what to do for example stealing, stopping at that base, going to the next base, or sliding. there is a base coach for first base and there is one at third base. if the runner is on second they would listen to the third base coach.


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


If a runner is going to steal from first base to second base and the pitcher throws the ball to the first baseman can the runner run to second instead of going back to first?

Yes. A runner who is picked off first can instead try to take second. This will often happen on a slow move by a left handed pitcher, where the runner thinks the pitcher is throwing home. Sometimes the runner makes it in this case, in which case it is scored as a stolen base. The first baseman often needs to take a few steps towards the pitcher rather than wait at first base for the ball to arrive in order to have enough time to throw out the runner.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.


With runners on first and second how can a triple play occur without the fielder touching the ball and to which mlb team has this occured?

The batter hits a pop-fly making him out due to the infield fly rule. The runner on first passes the runner on second and the ball hits the runner on second. I dont know who it happened to.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.