No. On-base percentage is calculated by adding hits, walks and hit-by-pitches and dividing that number by the sum of all at-bats, walks, hit-by-pitches and sacrifice flies. (Source: www.homerunweb.com/onbase.html)
A fielder's choice does not improve a player's batting average, and neither does an error.
Actually an error counts towards your on base percentage, just not your average. Does a fielder's choice count towards your obp.
If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3
It does not count as an at bat
yes it's an at bat
No it goes down as a fielders choice.
A fielder's choice is always an at bat. The book would be marked as an FC with RBI.
yes. you ground to short with a man on first and they get the force at second... you are 0-1
This is not a sacrifice. It is counted as an RBI though unless there is a double play as result of the FC.
No. This would be a fielders choice and would not count as a hit for the batter.
No. Reaching base due to the uncaught third strike rule, an error, or fielder's choice does not increase on base percentage but decreases it.
I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.