answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Quick answer is: generally, no. Long answer is, it depends. There are too many variables to answer that question without more detail, such as: Were there other runners on base? Did the defensive team make an out before any runners advanced? Did the passed ball result in ball four?

Rule 10.04(a) states:

The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores

(1) unaided by an error and as part of a play begun by the batter's safe hit (including the batter's home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder's choice, unless Rule 10.04(b) applies;

(2) by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (because of a base on balls, an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball or for interference or obstruction); or

(3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score.

Rule 10.13 Comment states:

The official scorer shall not charge a wild pitch or passed ball if the defensive team makes an out before any runners advance. For example ... if a catcher drops a pitch with a runner on first base, but the catcher recovers the ball and throws to second base in time to retire the runner, the official scorer shall not charge the catcher with a passed ball. The official scorer shall credit the advancement of any other runner on the play as a fielder's choice.

The only way the batter could be credited with an RBI was if the passed ball occurred with the bases loaded and was ball four on the batter, thus forcing in the runner from third. However, it would only be a passed ball if other runners or runner advanced, i. e., the runner on 2nd also rounded and scored. The batter would receive one RBI for the base runner scoring on the bases loaded walk, but would not receive an RBI for the runner on 2nd, or any other base scoring on the miss-play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

In both cases (base on balls, hit by pitch) the batter is credited with an RBI.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago

Although it does not require skill, the batter is still responsible for the run scoring so i believe the answer is yes. he gets the rbi.

Yes.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Yes, a batter gets a RBI through a Hit-by-pitch, walk, or hit if a runner scores on the play due to their plate appearance

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

no, its charged as a sacrifcie.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

yes

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a dropped Ball by the Outfielder with the Bases Loaded count as an RBI?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Do all runs count on a bases loaded walk off home run?

Yes they due. If it were any other hit, only the winning run or runs count.


Do the first three runs count if the bases are loaded and the hitter gets thrown out at the plate with two outs?

Yes. Any runs scored before the out (tag or force) are counted. Any runs scored before a pop out do not count.


If in baseball you're up at bat and you get walked with bases loaded and a run is forced in how can you get an RBI when a walk doesn't count as an 'at bat'?

It still counts as a plate appearance, and as a result of your plate appearance (bases loaded walk), a run scored. Therefore you are credited with an RBI. A sacrifice fly doesn't count as an at-bat either, but RBIs are credited. Double-plays are counted as at-bats but they disqualify RBIs. "At-bats" have absolutely nothing to do with RBIs.


Does a stolen home plate count as an rbi?

RBI 4 UYes, the run scored by the batter, as well as each baserunner, is a run batted in (rbi). If the bases are loaded and the batter hits a home run that's four RBI.YesYes, it counts as one RBI; but if the bases are loaded, for instance, a home run counts for 4 RBIs.


Does a dropped ball count as a dribble in basketball?

yes


Does the base count as a face?

i am pretty confident bases do count as a face. bases change depending on how you look at the shape anyway, so that makes me think theyd count.


During a bases loaded walk if the batter fails to touch first base on a base on balls does the runner on third base score?

If there are fewer than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, both the runner on third and the batter must touch their respective bases for the run to count.


When the bases are loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS The runner scores before the SS throws the batter out Does the run count?

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count


Did Count Basie have any formal education?

in Red Bank , New Jersey. He dropped out of junior high school to work at the Palace Theatre


Is a Base on Balls Included in Total Bases?

No, only hits count towards your total bases


If a batter hits a home run?

If a batter hits a home run, he can automatically run around all the bases and the team gets a point. If there are any runners already on the bases, then they count as points too. This is why you can have two-run home runs and 3-run home runs. If the bases are loaded, and the player at bat hits a home run, then the team gets four points. This is called a grand slam.


Would the run count because of the error or not count if Two outs bases loaded Grounder to first First baseman commits error but rightfielder throws batter out at first Meantime runner on third scores?

The run would not count since there are 2 outs and the fielder got the out at 1st base which is the only thing that matters in that situation with 2 outs regardless of the runners and regardless of any of the other circumstances of who is on base.