answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A base hit is a statistic credited to a batter when such batter reaches base safely, as set forth in this Rule 10.05.

(a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:

(6) a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner and, in the official scorer's judgment, the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort.

(b)The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:

(4) fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner and, in the scorer's judgment, the batter-runner could have been put out at first base;

It all depends on what the official scorer thinks the possibility of a put out at 1st is. If they think the batter would have been out if they went directly to first then the batter doesnt get credit for a hit, if the score keeper feels he would have been safe, then it is a hit.

**If any lead runner is thrown out, then it is no hit, and scored as a fielder's choice

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

The batter is credited with a Fielder's Choice only if, in the official scorer's opinion, the fielder could have easily retired another runner but elected not to do so.This is not an error.The batter gets credit for an RBI.I can foresee a scenario, like the one posted, where the ONLY possible play was to force the runner out at the plate. (Maybe it was a very good bunt) If the attempt to force out the runner at the plate is unsuccessful - you could award the batter with a hit and an RBI.In short, to answer this question accurately, more details about the nature of the play are needed.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

no hit, assume runner trying to keep defensive player from throwing to first base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

no

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

no

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a batter get credit for a hit and RBI or is it a fielders choice with an RBI if the bases are loaded and the batter hits to an infielder who tries and fails to make a play at home?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How do you officially score a fielder's choice?

A fielder's choice is when a fielder has choosen to make an out on another runner on base when he could of gotten the batter/runner out instead. The batter/runner is safe, therefore reaching base via a fielder's choice. Please note that this counts as an at-bat and goes against the batter's batting average.


Can you earn an RBI on a pass ball?

No, it is not an RBI. a passed ball is basically an error on the catcher and you don't credit RBI's when error's occur. This answer is basicly true in regards to the passed ball, however , a batter can be credited with an RBI on an error, if, in the official scorers judgment the runner or runners would have scored anyway had the error not occured. For example: Runner on third, less than two outs, batter hits ground ball to an infielder who was playing back..infielder commits an error fielding the ball, or throws it wild to first..in the scorers opinion had the infielder fielded the ball cleanly, or not thrown wild to first, the run would have scored anyway. The batter is credited with an RBI.


Is a fielder's choice a hit against the pitcher?

No. Since the fielder's choice is a force out, the batter doesn't get credit for a hit even if he is safe, nor does the pitcher get a hit counted against him.


What is counted as a hit in baseball?

If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.


First batter gets on via error question if the next player up knocks him in does this batter get credit for an RBI and does the first guy get credit for the run scored?

Yes they get the credit


How many runs should be scored when there are bases loaded 2 outs and the batter hits a grandslam home run but while running the bases passes the runner ahead of him between second and third?

Its still an out. If the runner is thrown out before reaching the next base it doesn't matter where the ball was hit. In tr same scenario say the barter hits a ball off the outfield wall but the runner at second twists an ankle and hits the ground and is unable to advance, it'd still be a force play and no hit. To answer the question it is scored as a fielders choice or 7-5 FC. The batter is charged with an at bat and not credit with a hit.


What is meant by choice based credit system?

choice crditi system is---------------- for girl


Who gets credit for making the out when a batter is out of order?

By MLB rule, the fielders that made the putout/assist on the incorrect batter shall be given the putout/assist for the correct batter. If the incorrect batter reaches base, the putout is given to the catcher. MLB Rule 10.3(d) states ... "When a player bats out of turn and is put out, and the proper batter is called out before the ball is pitched to the next batter, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat and score the putout and any assists the same as if the correct batting order had been followed. If an improper batter becomes a runner and the proper batter is called out for having missed his turn at bat, the official scorer shall charge the proper batter with a time at bat, credit the putout to the catcher and ignore everything entering into the improper batter's safe arrival on base. If more than one batter bats out of turn in succession, the official scorer shall score all plays just as they occur, skipping the turn at bat of the player or players who first missed batting in the proper order."


What is meant by Choice based Credit Learning System?

choice crditi system is---------------- for girl


Does a fielder's error go down as a hit officially?

No. If a player reaches base due to a fielder's error, the batter does not receive credit for a hit, but does get credit for an at-bat. Therefore, the batter's average will descend, but the batter's on-base percentage will increase.


How is President choice credit card designed?

President's choice credit card refers to a banking service provided by Loblaw companies. It is designed to provide individual financial services under the Presidential's choice financial umbrella.


Are the any bad credit lenders in the Killen Texas area?

Anything that says payday loan, auto loan or anything such as this would be a bad choice as a credit lender. Banks and credit unions however are the best choice.