Generally yes...if a pitcher walks a batter and he comes around to score, that is an earned run against the pitcher, unless he scores on an error Bases loaded walks that score a run also count as an earned run against the pitcher that allowed the man on third to reach base, unless he reached base on an error
The only way a run is not earned is if the batter reached base on an error. A walk, hit or hit by pitch count as earned runs against the pitcher regardless of the circumstances of how the batter scores. My son was pitching against a very good team the other day and intentionally walked the 3rd and 4th hitters, and then proceeded to pitch to the other players. The fielders committed three errors and allowed both of those runners who were walked earlier to score. The result was he had two runs added to his ERA even though those runs shouldn't have scored.
Yes it is
The only time a run scored is not counted as an earned run is if the base runner reached base on an error. Hit, walk or hit by pitch count as earned runs even if errors are committed after the runner reaches base.
An earned run is scored on how the runner got on base not how he came home ...
If the runner hit the ball and got on base ... and wound up scoring ... its an earn run for the picher he got the hit off of ... NO matter how he cam home ... it may not be an RBI ...
Your questioned is covered in Section 10.18 of the rulebook. To answer your question, a passed ball counts as an unearned run if a runner scores on the passed ball or is allowed to advance on the passed ball and later scores when it is determined he would have not scored otherwise -- wild pitchers, however, are counted as earned runs since this is soley the pitchers fault.
To calculate an earned run, you would reconstruct the inning as it would have happened without any errors or interference calls. If the run would not have scored after reconstruction then it is unearned, if the run would have scored then it is earned.
i.e an error with 2 outs occurs, the team goes on to score 6 runs that inning after the error should have ended the inning -- all 6 of these runs are unearned, no matter how they reached base or scored --- tigersy2k3
it depends. If the bases were loaded and a batter walked, that would effect the earned run average. But if a batter walked but it did not effect the score, it would not effect the pitcher's earned run average.
The question is confusing, but I'll try to answer it.
If a pitcher strikes out a batter but the ball gets past the catcher, both the batter and all base runners may attempt to advance to the next base. The batter must advance to first, thus he put out on a force play at first. All other base runners who must advance on this play (ie, someone on first, or those on first and second) can also be forced out at the base they must advance to. Thus, if the bases are loaded on such a play, all runners must advance, and the runner on third could also be forced out at home.
It's because of this fact, that the batter may ONLY advance to first after a dropped third strike when there are no runner force outs possible OR there are two outs. Otherwise, a catcher would "accidentally" drop the ball on a third strike in order to get a double play.
Thus, if the bases are loaded and there is a passed ball on a third strike, the batter is out UNLESS there are already two outs. In that latter case, all runners must advance to the next base. A force-out at any base -- including home -- would end the inning with no runs. If the batter and all runners reach base safely (ie, the runner on third comes home), that would be an UNearned run because a runner scored on a passed ball. It would be unearned if the runner on third scored on a passed ball after a third strike or not -- runs are unearned if they result from the play of a fielder instead of the pitcher.
One last thing -- if a fielder's play SHOULD have resulted in a third out, but doesn't, then ALL subsequent runs in that inning are unearned. In the batter gets to first on a passed ball on a third strike that should have been the third out, and the next batter gets a home run, then both runs are unearned. If the bizarre scenario I noted above -- dropped third strike on a passed ball with bases loaded with everyone safe (which MUST happen with two outs) -- occurred, and the next batter walked (also with bases loaded) thus getting another run, then that second run would also be unearned.
They are calculated into his Earned Run Average as earned runs, unless something happened in the inning to make them unearned runs.
Earned runs are runs that are scored because of hits stolen bases. Un-earned runs are those where a runner gets on base because of an error and eventually scores. The earned run average (ERA) is calculated by taking the total number of earned runs scored against a pitcher and dividing that by the total number of innings that pitcher pitched. The lower the ERA the better the pitcher, usually.
No, walks do not count as an at-bat.
only one earned run and that's the home run, the other runs arent his fault but the home run is.
yes it does
No...a fielding error that allows the runner to get on base and that runner scores is not an earned run and does not count against earned run average.
Under most circumstances, this would be an earned run, provided he eventually scores. However, there are a few cases where it would not be an earned run. One example would be if the inning is extended by an error, no runs scored after that error are earned.
Batting average is hits divided by at bats (hits + outs + reached on error). ERA is earned runs divided by innings pitched, then multiplied by nine (in other words, the average number of earned runs given up over nine innings). For more info: baseball-almanac reaching on error counts as an out so. Remember BB(walks), sac bunts, sac flies and HPB do not count as plate appearences.
Yes because it was that pitcher's fault for letting him get on base in the 1st place. Yes, runs that score because of walks are still earned. Errors are the only things that factor into whether runs are earned or unearned.
ERA is an acronym for "earned run average." It's a measure of how many runs a pitcher would theoretically allow if he pitched a full nine inning game. Only runs given up as a result of the pitcher's actions count as "earned." For example, if there are two outs, and a fielder makes a throwing error, allowing a run to score, that run would be unearned. However, if the pitcher made the error, the runs would count against his ERA.
it does not as any runs scoring as a result of a passed ball are unearned and so do not count towards the pitcher earned run average