answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Ball of the foot for sprinters and maratons

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-02-08 05:07:13
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Do runners strike the ground with their heel first or ball of foot?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a runner return to first base on a ground ball without being out?

No, when a ball is hit on the ground, the runners must try and advance to the next base.


If a pitch hits the ground then the bat is it a strike or ball?

Strike.


On a dropped third strike can runners advance?

Yes, a dropped 3rd strike acts the same as a passed ball or a wild pitch so runners can advance to the next base.


Can it be a strike to swing at a ground ball?

A pitched ball that touches the ground is a live ball. If the batter swings and misses, it is a strike. If the batter swings and hits the ball, it is treated as any other hit ball.


What if attempting to bunt batter misses ball then ball hits batter can runners advance?

If a better puts out his bat for a bunt and does not pull it back, the pitch counts as a strike (as long as the ball does not hit the bat of course). It does not matter if the ball is in the strike zone or is 10 ft outside of it. Given that it is a strike, the runners do not advance, although they can attempt to steal.


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.


What happens when a ball is droped and it hits the ground?

For a batted fly ball that is dropped: If it was first touched in foul territory, it is a foul ball. If it was first touched in fair territory and falls to the ground NOT in out-of-play territory, it is a fair ball and is in play. If it was first touched in fair territory and falls to the ground in out-of-play territory, it is a dead ball and the batter and any runners will be awarded the appropriate base according to the rules.


What happens if in baseball the ball gets stuck in a runners jersey?

If it was a hit ball and the ball was stuck in the runners jersey then the runner is out assuming he had the first contact with the ball. If a fielder has the ball stuck in the jersey then the ball is dead and the hitter would be safe at first.


If the ball hit the dirt first an then hit you do you take a base?

Yes, you are awarded first base. When a pitched ball hits the ground before reaching home plate it does not become a dead ball. You can swing and miss and it is a strike. You can swing and hit the ball and it is a live ball. If the ball bounces and then comes up over the plate it can NOT be a called strike.


How do you get a batter out?

There are several ways to get a batter out. 1. They strike out swinging. 2. They strike out looking. (they don't swing, but the ball is in the strike zone) 3. They bunt a foul ball while they already have a 2 strike count. 4. They hit a fly ball that is caught by a fielder. 5. They hit a ground ball and the ball is thrown to first base before they step on it. 6. They hit a ball close to where they are running and they get tagged out.


When bases are loaded ball is hit on ground to first baseman who tags runner out then throws home all runners go back to previous bases are runners all safe?

Yes. If the first baseman tags out the batter on his way to first, the three existing runners can return to their original bases; none can be "forced out."


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


A cannon ball fires horizontal and a second identical cannonball is dropped vertically at the same time from the same height as the cannon which ball will strike the ground first?

dropped


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


If bases are loaded and batters swings and misses where do the runners go?

The runners stay on base unless: if it's strike 3, out 3, the inning is over and runners leave the field and switch to defense as long as the game isn't over; if it's a wild pitch and not strike 3, out 3, the runners can advance at their own risk; if it's strike 3 and not out 3 and the catcher fails to catch the ball, all runners (including the batter) can run to the next base


If a ball bounces off the dirt and into the strike zone is it considered a strike or a ball?

A called strike cannot hit the ground and then go thru the strike zone. Baseball rule section 2.00 Definitions of Terms: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.


If a batter hits the ball in the air and the defender catches the ball what is it a strike or a out?

If the defender catches the ball before it hits the ground, then it's an out.


Is it a strike if the ball hits the ground before home plate and the batter hits it?

Yes. If the batter swings, it's a strike.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


Rule concerning a ball caught in the air and dropped when hitting the ground?

If there were less than 2 outs and were runners on base, the runners go back to their bases and the batter is out.


Does the catcher have to catch the third strike in his glove to not be considered a passed ball Example ball hits the catcher in the chest rolls down but traps it and does not hits the ground?

You situation has nothing to do with passed balls. You are talking about the "uncaught third strike". And no, as long as the ball does not hit the ground it is considered caught. If the batter traps the ball and he gets it before it hits the ground, he caught it. Bobbling the ball and catching it is an out.


Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


What is the rule when a batter hits a ball then the ball hits the batter and there are runners in first and second baseis this a dead ball or live?

it is a foul.


What happens if you swing the bat but the ball hits you in baseball?

It's a strike and you are not awarded first.


Is it a sacrific if the batter bunts a ball with runners on first base and third base and is thrown out at first?

yes