Best Answer

Yes, for a period of time it was the N.Y. Yankees, N.Y. Giants and the Brooklyn Dodgers.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-15 05:24:11
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Did the city of New York have three baseball teams in Major league baseball?
Write your answer...
Related questions

What three baseball teams are named after birds?

Three Major League baseball teams that are named after birds are the Baltimore Orioles, the Toronto Blue Jays, and the Saint Louis Cardinals.

Who is Zack Jackson?

Zack Jackson plays major league baseball for the Texas rangers. He was born in May 13th 1983. He also was part of three other major league baseball teams.

What three major league baseball teams never made it to the world series?

mariners, nationals, rangers

How is the wild card team determined in Major League Baseball?

Each league has five teams make the Playoffs. Each league has its teams broken into three divisions. The winning team of each division makes the Playoffs. The Wild Card teams are the teams with the 2 best records in their league during the Regular season that did not win a division.

What professional league has the most teams in the US?

The National Football League has 32 franchises. Major League Baseball has 30 teams, with one team in Canada. The National Basketball Association, like MLB, has 30 clubs, with one in Toronto. There are 30 teams in the National Hockey League, but seven are in Canada. Currently, Major League Soccer has 16 U.S. teams and another three reside in Canada.

What major league baseball teams don't have mascots?

There are only three teams...The Chicago CubsThe New York YankeesThe Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

How many major league baseball teams have won the world series after losing the first three games?

It has never happened in the history of the World Series.

How many baseball teams did Babe Ruth play for?

Babe Ruth played for three Major League baseball teams. The Boston Red Sox 1914-1919, the New York Yankees 1920 -1934, and the Boston Braves in 1935.

Why does New York have two baseball teams?

Some major league cities are large enough to support two teams. The New York Yankees are in the American League, while the New York Mets are in the National League. Before 1958, New York had three teams -- the Yankees, the New York Giants and the Brooklyn Dodgers.

What is an Immaculate Inning in Major League Baseball?

An immaculate inning in major league baseball is one in which three batters are retired on nine straight strikes.

What baseball teams are in California?

Five California MLB TeamsThere are currently five Major League teams that play in California. Three National League teams; The Los Angeles Dodgers, the San Diego Padres, and the San Francisco Giants, and two American League team the Oakland Athletics, and Los Angeles Angels.

How many starting pitchers are on a major league baseball team?

Five pitchers are used in a starting rotation for baseball teams. Sometimes in the post-season teams will use a rotation consisting of their best three or four pitchers only, to maximize their chances of winning a series.

What team was Babe Ruth name?

Babe Ruth played on three Major League baseball teams. The Boston Red Sox, the New York Yankees, and the Boston Braves.

Were there ever four Major League baseball teams that played in New York at the same time?

No, but there were three. Between 1903-1957, the New York Yankees played in the American League and the Brooklyn Dodgers and the New York Giants played in the National League.

What are three of the five Major League Baseball teams from the state of Cailfornia?

The five MLB teams in California are: the San Diego Padres; the Los Angeles Dodgers; the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim; the San Francisco Giants; and the Oakland Athletics.

How do baseball teams make the playoffs?

Playoff teamsThere are two Leagues in Major League Baseball. The American League and National League. Each league is divided into three divisions. East Central, and West. The winner of each division at the end of the regular season goes on to the playoffs, and he team with the best record that finishes in second place wins the wild card spot. The four teams in each league play each other in the playoffs and the winner moves on to the World Series.

Is the number three retired from major league baseball?


What is the average life span of a Major League Baseball?

The average life span of a Major League baseball is 7 pitches. Other estimates are three innings.

How many NBA teams have won a seven game postseason series after trailing three games to zero?

That has happened twice in National Hockey League history and once in Major League Baseball history but never in National Basketball Association history.

What state capitols are home to major league baseball teams?

Only three, Atlanta, Ga., home of the Braves; Denver, Colo., home of the Colorado Rockies; and Phoeniz, Ariz., home of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Can 3 teams in major league baseball in the same division gone to the playoffs?

No, the playoffs are designed so that the three division winners in each league are automatically in the playoffs. A wild card team in each league makes the playoffs with the best record among non-division winners.

For how many Major League Baseball organizations has Brad Thompson pitched for in his career?

Brad Thompson has been a pitcher all of his baseball career. He made his debut in 2005 and since then has pitched for three teams. The previous teams were the St Louis Cardinals and the Kansas Royals. More recently he joined the Somerset Patriots.

What year was MLS Canada founded?

The MLS or Major League Soccer currently has 19 teams in its league. Three of those teams are Canadian. Toronto was the first to join in 2006 making that the year the MLS was founded.

What is a baseball inning?

According to Major League Baseball Rule 2.0: "An INNING is that portion of a game within which the teams alternate on offense and defense and in which there are three putouts for each team. Each team's time at bat is a half-inning."

Were the orioles a minor league team before coming to the major league?

The town of Baltimore has a rich baseball history, both of major league teams and minor league teams. Baltimore began as a major league baseball town, then became a minor league baseball town, and finally, back to a major league baseball town. The first Baltimore Orioles team began in 1882 as a charter member of the American Association, a major league at the time. They played in the AA through 1891 when the AA folded. They joined the National League and played until 1899 when they, along with the Washington Senators, Cleveland Spiders, and Louisville Colonels were contracted turning the NL into a league of 8 teams from 12 teams. The Orioles of the 1890s won three consecutive National League pennants (1894-1896) and had players such as John McGraw, Wilbert Robinson, Willie Keeler, Hughie Jennings, and Dan Brouthers, all future Hall of Famers. When the American League began play as a major league in 1901, Baltimore was awarded a team. McGraw and Robinson and several of the players from the Orioles teams of the 1890s were on this team along with future Hall of Famers Joe McGinnity and Roger Bresnahan. The Orioles moved to New York and became the Highlanders (and eventually, the Yankees) for the 1903 season. They were replaced by a team, also known as the Orioles, that played minor league ball in the International League through the 1953 season. This team won 9 International League titles and had the great Babe Ruth as a member for the first half of the 1914 season. The 1954 season saw major league baseball return to Baltimore when the St. Louis Browns moved to Baltimore and became the Orioles.