answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It's a fair ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-06 03:44:26
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Catcher catches ball in front of plate?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If the ball bounce on the plate then in the air caught by catcher fair or foul?

It depends on where the ball is when the catcher catches it. The fact that the ball hit the plate does not matter one bit. It doesn't even matter where the catcher himself is when he catches it. If the ball is in or over fair territory it is fair, if the ball is in or over foul territory it is foul.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


If a batter hit the ball and bounces off the home plate and the catcher catches it without touching the ground is it an out?

No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.


What is a strike zone?

When a pitcher throws a ball over any part of home plate before the catcher catches the ball.


Is a hit off of home plate that the catcher catches while standing over the home plate a fair ball in high school baseball?

The level of baseball is irrelevant. From Coach pitch to the majors, home plate is in fair territory. The reason why the plate is the only base that comes to a triangle is because that's the beginning of the foul lines as they extend out to foul pole--which is why the "arrow" of the plate never points to the pitcher. Any ball that has not crossed 1st or 3rd base is not fair or foul until it is touched or goes completely out of play. It doesn't matter where the catcher is, it matters where he touches the ball. The ball can hit the plate and bounce straight up or it could even hit behind the plate. If the catcher touches the ball directly over home plate, it's a fair ball.


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


What is the job of the catcher on a baseball team?

the job of a catcher in a baseball game is to catch the ball when the pitcher pitches the ball across the plate.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


If a play at the plate the catcher loses their glove on the tag is the runner still out if the ball remains in the glove?

the player is safe. catcher must have control of the ball


How are the frames of reference used in baseball?

A frame is when the catcher catches the ball and rolls his glove into the strike zone.


Should the first baseman be positioned inside or outside of the bag on a third strike drop by the catcher?

Depends on if the ball is blocked in front of home plate or towards the backstop.


What if the catcher touches a batted ball that hits the plate?

Home plate is considered just as much "fair territory" as any other part of the playing field. If a batted ball comes to rest on home plate without being touched by any player, it is a fair ball. If a catcher grabs the ball, when the only part of the field the ball has touched is home plate, the ball is fair -- just as if it had bounced only within the chalk lines. Thus, if a batter hits the ball downward onto the plate, and the ball then bounces into the air, and the catcher grabs the ball in the air before it hits any other part of the field -- the ball is fair. Since, at this point, the batter must run to first base, the catcher could throw the runner out at first.


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.


Can a catcher in slow pitch softball block the plate if theres a play at home?

A catcher can only block home plate if they have possession of the ball. This is true for any base. However, if the defensive player does not have possession of the ball and they block the plate, the runner is granted the base due to obstruction.


If a catcher is standing on home plate exactly how far does the catcher have tothrow the ball to reach second base?

127 feet, minus whatever is between his feet and the back of the plate.


Is a tipped ball an out if the catcher catches it?

Only if it's the third strike. A ball tipped by the bat but caught by the catcher without hitting the ground is ALWAYS considered a strike, thus eliminating any controversy on whether the batter actually tipped the ball or not.


Define a stolen base in softball?

when a baserunner decides to sprint to the next base right after the pitcher releases the ball. It is a risk. But once the catcher catches the ball that was just pitched, the catcher can very quickly decide to throw the ball to the base and try to get the baserunner, or stealer, out.


A baseball diamond is a square that measures 90 feet on a side How far must the catcher throw the ball from home plate to second base to pick off a runner?

124 feet form the front of home plate to the front of second base. plus or minus a few inches


Who catches the baseball thrown by the pitcher if the batter doesnt hit it?

In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.


Why do people wear batting gloves?

Because when the catcher, catches the ball it protects his or her hand because the ball is very very very hard! -ThankYou!


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.