MLB Rule 2.00 states:
A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove
Thus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."
Rule 7.08(e) states:
Any runner is out when --
(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.
Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :
A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.
The official rules state that a fielder need only hold a ball in his hand and touch a base. If the runner is forced to that base and the fielder touches the base while he is holding the ball, he is out. It does not say he has to step on the base. It just says he has to touch it. The runner, on the other hand, must be tagged with the hand that holds the ball.
Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.
A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it; providing he does not use his cap, protector, pocket or any other part of his uniform in getting possession. To answer this question, the first baseman would have to transfer the ball to his hand or glove before the runner reached first base in order for it to be considered an out.im pretty sure that as long as he put it in his hand or glove it would be an out no matter if the runner made it to the base or notIt would be an out if he were wearing his glove on his foot2nd thought:This is an interesting question. I am not sure of the situation, however, you would think that if the ball is caught firmly with the feet it should be ruled an out if the act of catching it was intentional (i.e a man with no arms playing baseball) -- I just bring this up.. because nobody thought Jim Abbott could play ball with only 1 hand, but he did.. so i am assuming a person who uses there feet for everything else could teach themselves how to play baseball --- far fetched, but just a thought, how how the ruling would really be made
The proper method for fielding a baseball would be to use two hands. watching the ball all the way in to the glove and securing the ball inside the glove with your opposite hand, only after gloving the ball would you actually touch the ball bare handed.
YES! Because it is a FORCE out and not a TAGGED out.
The Base Gloves lenght is determined by the size of the hand and the position the player is playing on the field.