No. if you return it you get 2 points
You cannot score a touchdown if you intercept an extra point. If you return it for a touchdown (all the way to the other team's end zone) you get two points. This is only for college level football. Professional football and High School football immediately blows the whistle and the play is dead when an extra point kick attempt is blocked.
A blocked PAT attempt that is returned into the end zone is worth 2 points for the returning team.
You can score on a blocked field goal as long as it isn't an extra point. In college football you can return PATS for a defensive 2 point convo
In college football, a blocked extra point can be returned for 2 points for the defending team. In pro football, however, any change of position instantly kills the play in a PAT situation.
None. During an extra point attempt only the team attempting it can score any points. If the defensive team blocks the kick it becomes a dead ball. The above is true EXCEPT in college football. In college, the defense can return a blocked extra point or a turnover during a 2-point attempt. If the defense can return it across the opposing goal in one play, they are awarded two points. If they fail, the try is over and the ball is kicked off as usual.
Although it is not possible to score only one point in an NFL game in college football it is possible to score only one point. It has never happened, but it would involve a return by the defense on a extra point attempt. If the defense made a return on a blocked kick, fumble, or interception (all dead plays in the NFL on an extra point conversion), fumbled the ball before scoring at the other end, and the offensive conversion team recovered it then went back into the end zone and was tackled, it would a one point safety for the defense.
no they use to be able to
You do not get extra points for blocking an extra point attempt. Points in football can only be scored by action in the end zone. First, the above answer is incorrect, as points scored by kicking the ball through the uprights do not involve "action in the end zone." Second, in college football you ARE awarded two points if the defense blocks an extra point and returns it all the way across the opposing goal line in one play. But in high school or the NFL, blocked PATs are immediately ruled dead.
Attempt a two point conversion
Not in the NFL. Once the offense loses control of the ball -- with an incomplete pass, interception, or tackle -- the play is dead. In college and Canadian football, however, the defense can return the ball and score a 2-point defensive conversion.
You cannot return a blocked P.A.T. in the NFL. The play is blown dead as soon as the defense gains possession of the ball. This is also the rule in high school. In college, however, a blocked P.A.T. can be returned by the defense for two points, assuming they run it all the way back in one play. (If they fail to run it back, the try is over. Then the ball is kicked off by the scoring team as usual.) The award of points would typically be called "Conversion: blocked PAT return" or something similar, depending on the preferred format of the box score.
In American football after a touchdown you would attempt a 1 or 2 point conversion.
The exact time of his return is unknown. It all depends on how well his rehab goes. Most he will return to the playing field at some point of the 2009 season.
yes, it is a penalty that occurs on a point after touchdown attempt when a player uses another player( teammate) in an attempt to propel himself higher to block the kick.
THERE IS NO PENALTY
It is not something that usually happens. I would guess somewhere around 2-5 times a season.
yes, it counts for 2 points
Obviously its two points for the returning team.
Any offensive stats obtained during a conversion attempt i.e. pass attempt, completion, yards, reception, etc are not counted towards the final box score.
In NFL ball is dead. In NCAA live ball: On a one-point try attempt, Team A's kick is blocked. The ball is advanced by runner B1 across Team A's goal line. RULING: Award Team B two points (Rule 8-3-1).
0 points... because it was blocked...
in American Football, the offense can choose to either kick the ball for a point after attempt (1 point), or choose to run another play in hopes of scoring a two-point conversion (2 points).
It depends on the league and level of football, but in the NFL, the football is normally placed on the 2 yard line for both a point-after kick or a 2-point conversion attempt. In high school, it's placed on the 3 yard line. CFL rules put it on the 5 yard line.
In the NFL, yes. I've seen games where a team scored a go-ahead touchdown and won with no time remaining, and both teams left the field, but the officials made them return to attempt the extra point. Other leagues or levels of football may make the PAT optional in this case, but the NFL requires it. I think the rationale is that the point could make a difference in tiebreakers at the end of the season.