Best Answer

Yes you could. If the goalkeeper catches it, then the other team has possession. If it was saved or hit the woodwork and came back into the field of play, then a member of the other team could get the ball first. If a goal is scored then the other team restarts the game with the ball in their possession. If the ball goes wide, then there will be a kick out by the goal keeper.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-12-08 13:38:53
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you lose possession of the ball on a penalty in football?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What does it mean in football when you keep possession?

keeping possesion is that your team has the ball and has it under control ==================================================== Possession of the ball is of critical importance in a football game. A team can lose possession of the ball through a fumble recovered by the opposing team, a pass intercepted by the opposing team, by punting the ball to the opposing team, or by failing to advance the ball ten yards in three plays from scrimmage. Keeping possession occurs, for example, when a team recovers its own fumble, when a pass originally ruled an interception is overruled on a replay, when a penalty against the opposing team nullifies a turnover, etc.

If you lose a golf ball Then take a penalty and hit another ball you then find the lost ball do you take the penalty or hit the lost ball?

Once you have taken the penalty and hit the new ball, you may not hit the old ball again. Play on with the penalty and the new ball.

In the NFL A player has possession of the football dives into the endzone crosses the goal line and is hit in mid air causing him to lose the ball Is this a touchdown or a fumble?

It depends on whether or not he has the ball in his hands when he hits the ground of the endzone. If it is not in his possession, then it is a fumble and can be recovered by a defender. If it is in his hands and he touches the endzone, then it is a touchdown. If he was in possession of the ball when the ball crossed the goal line, it's a touchdown. As soon as the ball breaks the plane of the goal line, the ball is dead and the play is over. Anything that happens after that is irrelevant.

What is the penalty for losing a golf ball?

One shot penalty and you must go back to where you played the previous shot from, no exceptions. So if you hit a tee shot, and lose it in the trees, you take your penalty and play your third from the tee. ANSWER: too often, guys will just drop a ball where they think their last ball was lost and proceed with a one-stroke penalty.

What penalty in football can the team get and not lose any yards?

When the quarterback gets horny and starts playing with his pee wee

What happens if you lose your ball on a golf course?

You have to take a two stroke penalty and hit from the same spot from your previous shot.

How many defenders are there in the rugby union team?

The game in both code does not have specific defenders. Each player on the side having possession of the ball are classed as attackers when they lose possession they become defenders.

In Iowa do you lose your driver's license for possession of marijuana?

You get arrested if you get caught possessing marijuana in any state of the U.S. Whether you lose your drivers license or not depends on your penalty, and usually your drivers license isn't affected by an arrest.

Have you ever been able to keep possession of the ball after a 3rd down field goal attempt for another try?

Yes. In both college and the NFL, if a field goal attempt does not cross the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the kicking team, they will continue with possession of the ball. This ruling doesn't really come into play on 4th down kicks because the kicking team will lose possession of the ball on downs. But on third down, if a field goal attempt is blocked and the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, should the kicking team recover the ball they keep possession and it will be fourth down. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, possession goes to the defense.

How can you lose a point in tennis?

You can lose a point in tennis for various things. Here are a few ways:You hit the ball into the netYou hit the ball outYou fail to return the ball over the netYou fail to get your serve in on your first or second serveYour opponent hits a winnerIf you yell at your opponent using nasty phrases or words (resulting in a point penalty deduction)If you yell at any of the line judges or ball boys (resulting in a point penalty deduction)

Can a pro football player quit pro ball to enroll in college and play college football?

No, the player would lose is amateur status and no longer be eligible.

England lose penalty shootout?


Why did Serbia lose against Australia?

because the stupid ref soo blind didnt want to call Tim cahills hand ball and give em a penalty

If you lose your golf ball out of bounds how many strokes are you penalised?

It is a one shot penalty and you must replay the shot. Some 1- off the tee ( out of bounds), 2- penalty shot, 3- off the tee, the next shot is 4.

What is the opposite of lose?

The opposite of lose (a competition) is "win."The opposite of lose (misplace) is to "find."The opposite of lose (possession, value) is to "gain." To not lose is to "retain."

Is a jump ball a turnover?

Technically it is a turnover (and a steal for the defender) if the offensive team loses possession. Personally, I believe it should be even if they don't lose possession at that time, because they are still losing a possession. It just may not effect the game until the end of the quarter or the next held ball. I just don't know who I need to talk to about getting that rule changed in the official statistician books.

How many yards do you lose on a holding penalty?

10 yards

What is the meaning of porfeit?

Lose bond due to penalty violation

What are the uses of maths in sports?

Like in football, there are points that you add, there are yards that you gain or lose, and the play tell the players where to line up to the ball.

What is penalty for hiring unlicensed contractor in Maryland?

The penalty is YOU LOSE. They are not bonded or insured and your loss is just that. GOOD LUCK!

Do you lose if you scratch on last ball before the 8 ball?

Yes if you make in the last ball and then scratch, you lose and the game is over.

What are the penalty for false copyright claims?

The only form of penalty is possibly having to pay the defendant's court costs if you lose.

Do you lose possession after a technical foul?

yes if you commited the technical foul

What happens if you hit a tee marker and cant find your ball?

You would declare that ball lost and have to play another from the tee, there is a one shot penalty for losing your ball, so you are actually playing 3 off the tee. When you lose a ball, you must go back to the place you played that shot from, that is why in this case you have to go back to the tee.

How long does a goalkeeper have to get rid of the ball if he has not picked it up?

As long as he likes. He can even lose it to the opponent and let the opponent score an easy goal. Only once he takes possession of the ball with his hands is there a time limit. He then has 6 seconds to release it back into play.