Yes. However, according to NFL Rules: " If ball hits ground or is touched by member of kicking team in flight, fair catch signal is off and all rules for a kicked ball apply. " Therefore, if the onside kick touches the ground, it may not be fair caught. Since the vast, vast majority of onside kicks are on the ground, it would be a rare sight to see an onside kick fair caught.
Yes, a member of the receiving team can signal for a fair catch. But, even if he doesn't, he must be given an unimpeded opportunity to catch the kick. The protection terminates if the ball touches the ground or he muffs the kick.
Actually, you can, as long as the ball has not hit the ground.
Yes. Any kick can be fair-caught. But if the ball hits the ground or a player touches it, the fair-catch signal is off.
No. Frank Gore of the 49ers was given a 5 yard penalty for calling fair catch after an onsides kick that didn't touch the ground.
During a fair catch if you wave you can't move your down right there.
High school rules vary from state to state, but in college and the NFL, a fair-catch signal is waved off once the ball either hits the ground or a player.
The onside kick from scrimmage was eliminated, in the collegiate game, before WWI -- around 1912, I believe. The NFL started in 1920. So I guess the answer is -- never. In the NFL, an onside kick is only possible on a kickoff or on a free kick after a safety. But has there ever been an onside drop kick? I don't know, but lets consider why that would rarely (if ever) happen: Kickoffs are required to be a place kick (from a tee). So the only time you could even attempt an onside drop kick is after a safety, which is one of the rarest plays in football. An onside kick after a safety is very dangerous, as the kick must be from the 20 yard line. The opponent could recover the ball already in field goal range. An onside kick must hit the ground to prevent the other team from calling for a fair catch. This is more difficult to pull off with a drop kick.
After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
A free kick is any kick not taken from a play at the line of scrimmage. That includes kickoffs, kicks after safeties, and the fair catch kick.
You go to the full playbook on kick-off. Then you select onside kick.
No ... the free kick following a fair catch is used to score a field goal, therefore, it must be a place kick or a drop kick.
when a player calls for a fair catch on a kick he waves, this means that as soon as he catches the ball he is down right there and nobody can tackle him.
In the NFL yes.
A squib kick is a kick where it is shorter than a regular kickoff but longer than a short onside kick, often in the last few seconds in the half. It is still an onside kick, so it can be recovered by the kicking team. In case you have no idea how long it is, it is often 25 yards or so, and it's usually kicked low to the ground, so the receiving team can't fair catch it. Squib kicks are important because I don't think it has ever been returned.
The same way as outdoors. But inside the ball has a bit more bounce.
yea you are not suppose to tell them but the way you line up for an onside kick they will know already.
The kicking team cannot recover the ball unless a returning team member touches it.
The ball must travel 10 yards ( 30 ft. ) on an onside kick.
Yes you can kick a touchdown. By kicking an onside kick recover it and return it for a touchdown.
an onside kick you try to kick it about ten yards and recover it, a punt you try to get it as far down field as you can. Also onside kicks have a tee, and punts you toss in the air and kick it
yes the receiving team can pick it up and run it back at anytime after the ball is kicked.