You can advance your own fumble if the play is still alive, you pick up the fumble in a legal position (off your knees and elbows and not being touched by the opponent) and whistle doesnt sound.
The receiving team can advance the ball once they gain possession. The kicking team cannot advance the ball unless it was first in possession of the receiving team.
The rules for this scenario would differ based on which league was being discussed.
There was a rule in College Football where the defense could not advance the ball after recovering a fumble but it was abolished in 1992.
Yes. However, according to NFL Rules: " If ball hits ground or is touched by member of kicking team in flight, fair catch signal is off and all rules for a kicked ball apply. " Therefore, if the onside kick touches the ground, it may not be fair caught. Since the vast, vast majority of onside kicks are on the ground, it would be a rare sight to see an onside kick fair caught.
A "free kick" is any kick that is not a scrimmage kick. This includes kickoffs, or kicks that put the ball in play following a safety or a fair catch. A "scrimmage" kick, on the other hand, is a kick that takes place on a regular down or a try, when the ball must be snapped. This includes (most) punts, field-goal attempts and PATs. Kickoffs cannot be punted, but any other type of free kick can be punted, place-kicked or drop-kicked.
The packers are going to recover this onside kick
After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
The free kick is considered one of two types of kickoffs even though it uses a drop kick, according to the NFL rules:"Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball." Conversely, there are the same penalties if it goes out of bounds so it risks a 30 yd penalty. Yes. The rules for a free kick after a safety are the same as the rules for a free kick after a touchdown or field goal. Agreed. Just two points of clarification on the original answer: 1. The free kick after a safety isn't a drop kick. A drop kick is a specific type of kick in which the ball is struck after it bounces off the ground. What you usually see after a safety is just a punt without a line of scrimmage in front of the kicker. 2. An onside kick that goes out of bounds doesn't incur the 30-yard penalty. The receiving team gets the ball at the spot where the ball went out of bounds.
The onside kick from scrimmage was eliminated, in the collegiate game, before WWI -- around 1912, I believe. The NFL started in 1920. So I guess the answer is -- never. In the NFL, an onside kick is only possible on a kickoff or on a free kick after a safety. But has there ever been an onside drop kick? I don't know, but lets consider why that would rarely (if ever) happen: Kickoffs are required to be a place kick (from a tee). So the only time you could even attempt an onside drop kick is after a safety, which is one of the rarest plays in football. An onside kick after a safety is very dangerous, as the kick must be from the 20 yard line. The opponent could recover the ball already in field goal range. An onside kick must hit the ground to prevent the other team from calling for a fair catch. This is more difficult to pull off with a drop kick.
All players must be on their own half of the field. The ball is placed on the center mark. All players on the non-kicking team must be at least 10 yards from the ball. The ball may be kicked once the whistle is blown. The first kick must have a forward component to it. The kicker may not touch it a second time until another player has touched it. The players on the non-kicking team may close the gap after the first kick, not on the whistle.
The question is the correct assessment. If a ball travels more than 10 yards, hits the ground in bounds, and the kicking team gains possession of the ball, the ball is dead and the kicking team is on offense.
In the NFL, the ball is spotted when wherever the pass interference penalty occurred and is an automatic first down. In NCAA football, the ball is spotted wherever the penalty occurred up to 15 yards and is an automatic first down.
No, but in 1912 before the NFL was established the ball looked like a soccer ball, but they changed it to egg-shaped.
they kick the football in the case of a kickoff, punt, turnover or field goal kick.